Decently portable, solidly-built laptop for general use, light editing/gaming

Discussion in 'What Notebook Should I Buy?' started by OlegRU, Feb 18, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. OlegRU

OlegRU Notebook Geek

Reputations:
    General Questions

1) What is your budget?

$600-800 (as long as I can finance it)

2) What size notebook would you prefer?

13" and up
    3) Where will you buying this notebook? You can select the flag of your country as an indicator.

USA

4) Are there any brands that you prefer or any you really don't like?
    a. Like:
    b. Dislike: Acer seems to make crappy built stuff, but I'm no computer expert.
    5) Would you consider laptops that are refurbished/redistributed?

Prefer to go new for this pricepoint

6) What are the primary tasks will you be performing with this notebook?

Business/school/general use with multitasking, light photo/video editing and some light/occasional gaming

7) Will you be taking the notebook with you to different places, leaving it on your desk or both?

I'm looking for something decently portable - both

8) Will you be playing games on your notebook? If so, please state which games or types of games?

I haven't played games for a while, but would like the ability to play if I had the time/desire. I'd like to run at least up to games from 2011 (i.e. Dragon Age II, Mass Effect 3 and older) on good settings, and older games (i.e. Dragon Age: Origins, ME 2) on high.

9) How many hours of battery life do you need?

My laptop that just died had a horrible battery, so would be great to have a battery that could last like a workday or something, if I was doing non-intensive things such as browsing, typing etc.

10) Would you prefer to see the notebooks you're considering before purchasing it or buying a notebook on-line without seeing it is OK?

Whatever is the best deal and I can finance.

11) What OS do you prefer? Windows (Windows 7 / 8), Mac OS, Linux, etc.