D-Link Router: 'Hacked'?

Discussion in 'Networking and Wireless' started by davron, Sep 3, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. davron

    davron Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    312
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Hello everyone,

    I have a D-Link router and about a month ago - as I remember - when I turned off my laptop, the 'data' (WAN and WLAN) light stopped blinking, which is right because it's saying it's idle. When I'd turn it on, it would start 'blinking' again. Ok.

    But now, when I turn off both of my laptops - it keeps blinking.

    Is someone else using it? Has it been 'hacked'? I mean the password... ?

    I noticed that after my download speed decreased.
    I'm going to change the password, but WILL doing just that help?
    PS: I've also had some 'attacks' (according to Norton) from the IP of my router, which was kind of funny - but anyway, does anybody know what's going on?

    Thank you
     
  2. blue68f100

    blue68f100 Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    1,020
    Messages:
    3,439
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    105
    Routers can be hacked, very easily if the def has not been changed. If it a routers provided by your ISP, most have back doors in them.

    Did you open any ports up for gaming or servers? .... Do you have DynDNS running? all of these can generate wan activity.

    If you have your PC turned off and/or disconnected and have activity. I would first check for new Firmware for the router. If not down load the latest. Disconnect the WAN and blow all you settings back to factory. Then do the FW upgrade.

    I'm not a big fan of Norton. Uses way to much resources. Beside releasing a bad def forcing my PC's OF line. And Never acknowledge they Messed up. All they would have done was posted a notice saying it was a bug on their part. But No forced me to restoring pc that received the update over the weekend. Do you and your PC happy dump Norton while it's working. Another unknown features is if your sub expires, it will force you to reinstall your OS from scratch to fix wat it messed up. Buy a new subscription does not fix the problem. That my 2cents on Norton. You will not fine it on any of my pc's.
     
  3. mfmbcpman

    mfmbcpman Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    59
    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Do you have a password on the router and wireless security implemented(WEP,WPA)?
     
  4. Ice-Tea

    Ice-Tea MXM Guru NBR Reviewer

    Reputations:
    476
    Messages:
    1,260
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    Go to the status page of your router. You should be able to see there who is connected.
     
  5. davron

    davron Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    312
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Thanks for replying, all of you!
    I don't think I have any ports open and I don't do any online gaming.

    I'll try to update FW now.

    I already uninstalled it a long time ago :) I use AVG now. However, I don't have a firewall now, using Vista's firewall (which doesn't count :)) - can you recommend a free firewall? Thank you.

    Yes. Password was enabled. Plus I just changed it. (WPA)

    Thank you, I'll try that, great suggestion.
     
  6. davron

    davron Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    312
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
  7. Reezin14

    Reezin14 Crimson Mantle Commander

    Reputations:
    365
    Messages:
    934
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
  8. davron

    davron Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    312
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Didn't find anything on how to install the fw
     
  9. Reezin14

    Reezin14 Crimson Mantle Commander

    Reputations:
    365
    Messages:
    934
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    The firewall should already be installed on the router,I think blue68f100 is talking about the firewall running on your notebook.
     
  10. davron

    davron Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    312
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Ok, I went to http://192.168.0.1/tools_firmw.html

    and uploaded the firmware file... and this is what I'm getting:

     
Similar Threads: D-Link Router
Forum Title Date
Networking and Wireless DD-WRT Settings for a dorm on D-Link 615 router? Aug 29, 2013
Networking and Wireless How to connect my d-link router to internet using latop Jun 24, 2013
Networking and Wireless D-link router problem Sep 26, 2012
Networking and Wireless D-link DIR 655 router and comcast question. Please help. Apr 24, 2011
Networking and Wireless D-link router stops WiFi after inactivity. HELP! Apr 19, 2010

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page