1. You may have noticed things look a little different around here - we've switched to a new platform (XenForo) and have some new forum styles and features. This how-to guide will help you find your way around. If you find anything that looks strange, post it in this thread.

Crystal Eye webcam for Acer Extensa 4620 HELP!!!

Discussion in 'Acer' started by foofyloofy, Oct 22, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. foofyloofy

    foofyloofy Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    I just bought an Acer Extensa 4620 and i dont know how to record with the Crystal Eye webcam. I used it on yahoo messenger as a live cam, but i dont know how to capture video. It will only let me take still pics. I heard that you could dp it through windows movie maker.... but i cant figure it out. PLEASE HELP!!! :confused:
     
  2. RedRedRed

    RedRedRed Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Yes I too have just bought one and am having the same problem.I can take stills,but there is no button for videos...nothing.I emailed the acer tech support,so I will have to wait and see.I bought this laptop partly because of the the built in webcam and so i could make videos on the fly.It was affordable,in fact,on sale and had the right amount of RAM....so far everything else is good....so far.
     
  3. foofyloofy

    foofyloofy Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Yeah, everything else is perfect! except that I cant take videos! Mine was on sale in Best Buy for $600. When you get a response please post it back what they say.
     
  4. RedRedRed

    RedRedRed Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    haven't heard a thing yet...I also noticed that the version of Windows movie Maker does not have a "Capture Video" function as compared to the one on my XP version.....
    this is driving me crazy,I have other ways of recording video,but this shouldn't be a problem...it's enough for me to take the thing back though.
     
  5. foofyloofy

    foofyloofy Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Yeah, maybe since they just launched the new line of extensa this year they will come up with some type of download. my friend told me that they had the extensa a few years back but when they sold the company they stopped making them. and now they started again.
     
  6. RedRedRed

    RedRedRed Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    well,I figured it out,but I have been having other problems getting everything set up...I'm not sure if I like Vista all that much for what I need,but anyway....there is another program/camera capture on this thing,it was Sunyin orbi cam capture or something like that,I found it and managed to video myself and play it in WMP,I tried to get some editing done in Movie Maker,but couldn't get audio...well,then Skype went haywire with Internet Explorer,did a system restore and now I can't find the capture device....I've been on this damn thing for two days now...and am about to take it back to Best Buy and get a Dell with XP Pro on Ebay....this is a mess.
     
  7. RedRedRed

    RedRedRed Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    ok found it-computer-cdrive-windows-SUYIN NB CAM-live cam....right click and send to desk top....after this,just takes some tweaking,
    click devices,and check and check the web cam and audio..there are also some clicks for time limit and file size....we'll see what happens from here...let me know if you have any luck...still eyeballing ebay.
     
  8. foofyloofy

    foofyloofy Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    cool, thnx, imma try it out
     
  9. foofyloofy

    foofyloofy Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    i dont know wut to do, i try putting the start capture but it takes my to my documents and i dont know wut it wants me to open. how do i do it?
     
  10. foofyloofy

    foofyloofy Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    YAY!!! I figured it out!!! thnx!!!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page