1. You may have noticed things look a little different around here - we've switched to a new platform (XenForo) and have some new forum styles and features. This how-to guide will help you find your way around. If you find anything that looks strange, post it in this thread.

CPU upgrade on L702X

Discussion in 'Dell XPS and Studio XPS' started by dave343, Jun 23, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dave343

    dave343 Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    18
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    I've ordered my 702X with the i5 as that's all I need for now, however down the line will it be possible to drop in the 2630QM or a faster quad?
     
  2. naton

    naton Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    804
    Messages:
    2,044
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    56
    If the 702x is/was sold with a quad then yes you can upgrade yours from the i5 to a quad in the future. If it's not, then it might as it might not be able to recognise a quad core CPU.
     
  3. dave343

    dave343 Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    18
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    So the Power adapter etc is the same getting a i5 or i7?
     
  4. madmattd

    madmattd Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    368
    Messages:
    1,348
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    The power adapter only depends on the GPU as I recall. You get a 130W unless you get the 555m card, in which case you get a 150W.

    Yes, you can upgrade the CPU to one of the same socket, but you will not be able to put chips that currently are not made in (Intel changes the socket type pretty much every year it seems). Getting the plain CPU isn't cheap or easy though, you are looking at several hundred dollars easily. You might be better served by just getting the quad now.

    Any reason for not getting the 2630QM now aside from the added price? Depending on the i5 I don't think it is that much of a price increase to get it anyway. Of course, if you can't do it now, then you can't. But it will most likely cost you way more money in the long run.

    For reference, current prices on Newegg for Sandy Quads (the 2630QM is not listed there): Newegg.com - Computer Hardware, CPUs / Processors, Processors - Mobile, Core i7, Sandy Bridge
     
  5. seeker_moc

    seeker_moc Spes mea in Deo est

    Reputations:
    354
    Messages:
    2,082
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    Pretty much the only place you can get a decent selection of laptop CPUs is off of ebay, and most of the time they're either engineering samples or used. RAM is easy to upgrade later on a laptop, but you should get the CPU (and especially the GPU) you want right off the bat.
     
  6. Tsunade_Hime

    Tsunade_Hime such bacon. wow Super Moderator

    Reputations:
    5,392
    Messages:
    10,044
    Likes Received:
    913
    Trophy Points:
    531
    Yup GPU has to be bought up front unless you have a Dell proprietary version or MXM. CPU upgrades really depends. Sometimes they give you a good deal (i3 to i5 for 50 bucks) but if you bought an Alienware they may charge 500 to go to an i7...generally the XPS line and Inspiron give you more fair deals. As for the specific boards not support XX processor, you may want to get in more XPS 17 R2 owners in here who have done the swap, they would know better. Chipset may support all the new processor but Dell might whitelist the CPU in BIOS (they did for the last generation Studio XPS's).
     
  7. ZippoMan

    ZippoMan Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    61
    Messages:
    561
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    I agree completely.
     
  8. funky monk

    funky monk Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    233
    Messages:
    1,485
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    I know this is a little devious in relation to the original post but do you have any more info on the BIOS whitelist in the studio XPS? I took mine apart yesterday in search of the PLL (couldn't find it anywhere, only 1 obvious clock crystal and that was for an ethernet chip), instead I found what looks to be a PCIe pad without a connector. I would assume that dell put it there with the intention of possibly using it on a later revision for MXM or something along the lines. Anyway, I was thinking that should I ever aquie a new computer in the near future, I could possibly swap out the processor for a quad, solder on a PCIe connector and stick in a decent graphics card.

    http://i52.tinypic.com/2upre9y.jpg
    http://i55.tinypic.com/egwmco.jpg
    http://i54.tinypic.com/34sow1x.jpg
    http://i53.tinypic.com/2v9euqo.jpg
    http://i51.tinypic.com/2a5fxw7.jpg
    http://i53.tinypic.com/28a40hc.jpg
     
  9. Nigel8600

    Nigel8600 Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    159
    Messages:
    749
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    You wont notice the difference in size between the 130 or the 150 watt power supplies. They look roughly the same size. I had both of them here at the same time and if not for the label you wouldn't be able to tell them apart.
     
  10. Tsunade_Hime

    Tsunade_Hime such bacon. wow Super Moderator

    Reputations:
    5,392
    Messages:
    10,044
    Likes Received:
    913
    Trophy Points:
    531
    The way I understand the whitelist works is only for the 1645 and the 1647. If you had one configured with an i7 then you can upgrade to a higher end i7 (720QM to say a 840QM) but if you had one with an i5 then you can't upgrade up to an i7 even though the chipset supports the processor. Perhaps not a whitelist, maybe processor TDP.
     
  11. madmattd

    madmattd Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    368
    Messages:
    1,348
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    I read somewhere on here a few weeks back that someone took an XPS 17 (l702x) that came with a i7-2630QM (I think it was that one) and swapped it out for a 2920 (the extreme one) and it worked fine. Dell offers the 2630, 2720, and 2820 on the XPS line (at least on the 17), and apparently the 2920 works too. I'll try to find the post.
     
  12. Tsunade_Hime

    Tsunade_Hime such bacon. wow Super Moderator

    Reputations:
    5,392
    Messages:
    10,044
    Likes Received:
    913
    Trophy Points:
    531
    2920XM shouldn't be a problem though it would run hot and the XPS 17 cooling system is quite poor. Dell traditionally have never restricted CPU's in the BIOS, in fact Dell typically has some of the most lenient BIOS options out there.
     
  13. madmattd

    madmattd Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    368
    Messages:
    1,348
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    I couldn't find the post, but the guy that did it also did a repaste (well he kinda had to now didn't he...) and removed the fan intake screen, and in the end his temps were lower than most people get with the 2630. I'm tempted to pull my intake screen too as the thing has already gotten clogged decently after only 2 months of light use...but maybe I'll just shoot some canned air in there...
     
  14. madmattd

    madmattd Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    368
    Messages:
    1,348
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
  15. regisphilbin

    regisphilbin Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    is it possible to upgrade an L702x with an i3-2310m (sandy bridge) with an i7-2630qm CPU?
     
  16. madmattd

    madmattd Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    368
    Messages:
    1,348
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    I would think so, they should be the same socket type. Though the HS+fan may not be up to the extra load, idk. I didn't know the i3 was offered on the XPS 17??? Thought it was only i5/i7.
     
  17. seeker_moc

    seeker_moc Spes mea in Deo est

    Reputations:
    354
    Messages:
    2,082
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    Not in the US, but lots of times Dell offers the systems to other countries with cheaper/lower powered options.
     
  18. madmattd

    madmattd Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    368
    Messages:
    1,348
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    This is true. That said, if they use the same HS/fan assembly with the i3 as with the i7, you should be able to do the swap fine.
     
Similar Threads: upgrade L702X
Forum Title Date
Dell XPS and Studio XPS Dell XPS L702x Screen upgrade questions May 18, 2014
Dell XPS and Studio XPS Dell XPS L702x Ram upgrade issue Mar 30, 2013
Dell XPS and Studio XPS Dell L702x disgusting screen quality - Upgraded Free Jan 7, 2012
Dell XPS and Studio XPS Screen upgrade on the l702x Dec 19, 2011
Dell XPS and Studio XPS L702X - Socket type and CPU upgrades Dec 16, 2011

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page