CPU Power (in Performance Mode), Heat Sink Layout, and Pricing Difference for a Few Laptop Models.

Discussion in 'What Notebook Should I Buy?' started by Faisal McMissile Damieya, Oct 23, 2020.

1. Faisal McMissile Damieya

Faisal McMissile Damieya Notebook Consultant

Reputations:
    Good day,

I am from Malaysia and would like to buy a new laptop for engineering software (I am doing a PhD in Mechatronics Engineering and use the MATLAB software most of the time). At this moment, I would like to go for AMD Ryzen 7 4800H and only consider Intel Core i7-10750H if good Ryzen 4000 series laptops are sold out and not restocked in my country by the time I really need the new laptop. Before making the decision, I would like to ask 3 main questions:

1) CPU Power (in Performance Mode).

The Hardware Unboxed video above said in performance mode, the power supplied to the CPU is 72 Watt for Eluktronics RP-15/XMG Core 15 (Ryzen 7 4800H) and 65 Watt for Lenovo Legion 5 15 (Ryzen 7 4800H). May I know how much power (or at least where I can get the figure) for the CPU of the following laptops in performance mode?
    i) HP Omen 2020 (Ryzen 7 4800H).
    ii) HP Pavilion Gaming 2020 (Ryzen 7 4800H).
    iii) Acer Nitro 5 2020 (Ryzen 7 4800H).
    iv) Lenovo Legion 5 15 (Core i7-10750H).
    v) Acer Predator Helios 2020 (Core i7-10750H).
    vi) HP Omen 2020 (Core i7-10750H).
    vii) MSI GP65 2020 (Core i7-10750H).

2) Heat Sink Layout

The Matthew Moniz video above advised to avoid gaming laptops with a single fan like the MSI GF63 series or a dual fan but close to each other like the following laptops:
    i) Lenovo L340 Gaming.
    ii) Lenovo IdeaPad Gaming 3.
    iii) HP Pavilion Gaming 2019.