Considering MALIBAL Nine X7200

Discussion in 'What Notebook Should I Buy?' started by Asmerv, Sep 3, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Asmerv

Asmerv Newbie

Reputations:
    Hey NBR,

My old laptop is about to go, and I've salvaged as much as I could. Now it's time to get a new one.

I'm an international student in the US, and I move a lot. I usually live in four different places every year. That's why I was looking into desknotes.

I love gaming, and as my junior year of engineering kicks in with research, I'll start using some CAD programs.

The best desknote I could find was MALIBAL Nine X7200, with a 6990 CF setup. It comes to around $2700. The only changes I made were upgrading to 2x6990, IC Diamond thermal, and upping the warranty to 2 years parts.

Is this a good configuration? More importantly, is the X7200 a smart purchase? What else should I look into?

Admittedly, this laptop is out of my price range by around a $300. I have a strict budget in between my supplies, books, living and my job. I looked at G4TV's review and they ended with an offer of $200 off, but I don't think it's available anymore? Do you think it is at all possible to get a discount of $300 off of this lovely laptop? I also heard of discounts for NBR users who call..

Thanks in advance for your help and advice.

Edit: I did read a guy's review here of X7200 and he was very satisfied with it, but lack of Sandy Bridge was a concern to him. Also, there was talk about a refresh coming. Any info? Thanks again.

2. edit1754

edit1754 Notebook Prophet

Reputations:
    Look at the Alienware M18x. The X7200 crams desktop CPUs in a mobile chassis, and aside from hexacores, SandyBridge mobile CPUs are just about as powerful. It gets significantly less battery life and can even require dual-powerbricks in some scenarios.

3. Asmerv

Asmerv Newbie

Reputations: