1. You may have noticed things look a little different around here - we've switched to a new platform (XenForo) and have some new forum styles and features. This how-to guide will help you find your way around. If you find anything that looks strange, post it in this thread.

Complete Novice Laptop Buyer Here...

Discussion in 'What Notebook Should I Buy?' started by skjnoble, Mar 27, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. skjnoble

skjnoble Notebook Guru

Reputations:
    General Questions

1) What is your budget? up to $2,000.00

2) What size notebook would you prefer? Around 15, I think

a. Ultraportable; 12" screen or less
    b. Thin and Light; 13" - 14" screen
    c. Mainstream; 15" - 16" screen
    d. Desktop Replacement; 17"+ screen

3) Please select your country's flag as a post icon and tell us what country are you buying this in.

4) Are there any brands that you prefer or any you really don't like? None, yet

5) What tasks will you be performing with the notebook? All for home and personal use. Biggest used will be for photos and home movie making.

6) Will you be taking the notebook with you to different places or leaving it on your desk? Traveling with it less than 5 times a year.

7) Will you be playing games on it; if so, which games? I don't think so

8) How many hours of battery life do you need? At least to get through 1 or 2 DVD movies

9) Do you mind buying online without seeing the notebook in person? No

10) What OS do you prefer? Windows (XP or Vista), Mac OS, Linux, etc. I think we would prefer Windows Vista

Screen Specifics

11) Would you prefer standard or widescreen? I don't think it matters

12) From the choices below, what screen resolutions would you prefer?

Standard
    a. XGA -1024x768 - Large and easy to read text + graphics icons, but you fit less stuff on the screen.
    b. SXGA - 1400x1050 - Compromise resolution between XGA and UXGA.This one