Compal IFL90/Sager NP2090 stutters in DOTA.

Discussion in 'Compal' started by jdmsaber, Feb 25, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jdmsaber

    jdmsaber Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Hi everyone,:)
    I have used this laptop for almost 1.5 year. Loving the fact that this is a quiet laptop and a nice "glossy"15.4" screen size. The GFX as most of you know, is the NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GT 512MB and the ForceWare version is 156.65. The Driver version is 6.14.11.5665. I have only updated ALL OF MY DRIVERS from the CD that came with it(like Chipset, VGA, and Intel ProSet/Wireless, might be random, but Smart Battery setting Charging at 25%, which is the lowest.) The BIOS ver. is 1.12. I have played COD4, CS1.6, and DOTA.
    I know in COD4(Single-Player Mode) it stutters/freezes a little so as CS and DOTA. For DOTA, i can't tell if its whether the stutter is from the GFX or the net since it does not show FPS. I would be really appreciated if i can get some solutions. FYI, my GFX is not over-clocked. I also use the Zalman NC-2000 cooler, which is an awesome product that does a fantastic job of cooling HDD,GPU, and CPU temp. Am I the only one that uses the out-dated BIOS, drivers, these days?
    PS: I'm not familiar with Computers. Please help!
     
  2. grbac

    grbac Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    137
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Messages:
    976
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    You can try fraps to check for FPS. You could also update video drivers from nvidia.com or laptopvideo2go.com.
     
  3. jdmsaber

    jdmsaber Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Thanks for your response grbac:D
    I will check out Fraps and i will download the driver from laptopvide2go.com
    Correct me if am wrong, but the correct way to install driver is to select the driver version from the list and select OS and then download the .INF file and put it into the C:\(NVIDIA Folder?) and also am i be able to upgrade my BIOS from ver.1.12 to 1.18, which is the recent one?
     
  4. arfett

    arfett Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    When you download the drivers you simply extract the file using winrar/winzip/7zip and put the modded .inf inside that folder overwriting the original.
     
  5. maditude

    maditude Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    132
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    341
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
  6. grbac

    grbac Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    137
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Messages:
    976
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    @maditude - Yes, but not as good as lv2go or even better DOX enhanced drivers, so far seems like te 185.22 are the best, correct me if I'm wrong

    @jdmsaber - sorry for the late response, what arfett said. Plus, yes definitely you should update BIS coz it changes the fan speed regime, the fan kicks in to higher speed at lower temps, reducing the average temps a bit, not too much. I'm now on BIOS 119, you can find it here in NBR, just search for it. So far I don't have any problems with it.
     
  7. jdmsaber

    jdmsaber Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Once again, i would like to thank you all for your support.

    @arfett-"put the modded .inf inside that folder overwriting the original."
    I'm trying to put the .INF file into the NVIDIA directory; however, I cannot find the "NVIDIA" folder.

    @grbac-i'm cool about with the late response. Is it possible to upgrade my BIOS ver from 1.12 to 1.19? and when you mentioned the driver ver. 185.22 that is for 8600GT-M right?; i will update my driver ver to that if i can find my NVIDIA folder to put the modded .INF files.

    @maditude-thanks, i will check that out too.
     
  8. grbac

    grbac Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    137
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Messages:
    976
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    If you DL driver from lv2go, then you will have to extract it, just click on that .exe driver file. It will extract where you want it to or, by default, in the folder where the .exe already is. It will make a new folder with name of the version of the driver. In thet folder paste the .inf and it will ask to replace the old one. After that you can go inside the folder and to setup.exe. What you are acctualyy doing is just in that .inf file is just your model of mobile graphic card so that the setup can accept. All those drivers are made for desktop graphic cards, so you need to replace the .inf file because your card is not on the list. That is why you could have a bit higher temps with these drivers, but not always. Hope that clears up things a bit.

    Now with the BIOS, yes you can go to 119, people say it's buggy but I don't have any problems. If you don't want to experiment, then go to 118.
     
  9. jdmsaber

    jdmsaber Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Hi grbac,
    I have tried to look for the driver 185.22 under "INF Enhancer" from laptopvideo2go.com and the most recent one they have is 185.20.
    I would like to know where did you get your video driver from?

    Regarding about the BIOS, did you do it by yourself? Well, I have found threads about upgrading BIOS on the Compal IFL-90 both positive and negatives. To be honest after reading, i get really lost. reading same threads from left and right will even make me confuse and very worried about actually updating it.

    I do not know,but some IFL-90 users might experience this; (3) things:
    1.) When you turn on your computer the Phoenix Tech screens comes up then it will be blank, with the "blinking" _ or underscore bar. Sometimes, it will just stay at this screen, therefore, it won't move to the Windows XP loading screen with the small loading bar. So, sometimes i would do CTRL + ALT+ DEL or restarting it then it will load fine. Anyone ever face this problem?:confused2:

    2.) This is typically, when I opened up Spyware Doctor, or when its running at the background/taskbar that the computer totally freezes/ no response at all and end-up having turning off the computer holding the power button.

    3.)Sometimes, you hear the loud "tick" for a second, a noise as if something is getting jammed/stuck.
     
  10. waralex11

    waralex11 Notebook Geek

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    good job for nvidia..
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page