1. You may have noticed things look a little different around here - we've switched to a new platform (XenForo) and have some new forum styles and features. This how-to guide will help you find your way around. If you find anything that looks strange, post it in this thread.

Command center update

Discussion in 'Alienware' started by dwend, Oct 21, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dwend

    dwend Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    84
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Messages:
    313
    I just went to AW and there is a Command center update.
    With new Sense and touch options.
    Sense looks like a face recognition program.
    and
    Touch is a touch pad controlling thing.


    64bit users see FindVikas X64 thread

    Install .Net framework 3.5 before updating CC.
    It can be updated by running Command Center. When it opens CC will prompt for a update.


    The Command Center update package can be found here

    If you are having a problem when after it downloads from CC, it goes away and when you run CC update again it gives you a error message.
    Here is what to do.
    1) turn on View Hidden files, via control pannel/folder options.
    2) navigate to c:User/"youaccount"/AppData/Local/Temp
    3) locate & Run - CommandCenterSetup application
    4) This will make a new folder in Temp file called "IXP000.TMP"
    5) open that folder.
    6) Run Command Center 1.28SP1
    7) setup should run and install the new command center as well as a firmware update which is for the webcam.
    ^^no longer needed. :p ^^


    Found it in my hive!!!!!!
    It is under: AREA-51 M15X 15" WXGA+ W/CAM SIL-RIP-PNT R1
    it calls it "Alienware Command Center v1.0.24.0M" But will download the 1.28sp1.

    32bit users:
    http://support.alienware.com/Support_Pages/Restricted_Downloads/Command_Center_1028_SP1.exe
    ^should install with out the need of the Guide.

    The webcam Driver update for Sense can be found on My hive as well. Called "M15x Webcam 30625". It says to install this before the CC update.
    http://support.alienware.com/Support_Pages/Restricted_Downloads/Mobile/m15x/Webcam_m15x_30625.EXE
     
  2. cha

    cha Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    149
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Messages:
    764
    Yeah I did update it by simply running command center.

    But before the update could finish, an error message popped up saying that Microsoft.net framework 3.5 needs to be installed.

    I download and install Microsoft.net framework 3.5 successfully, but now Command Center is nowhere to be found.

    Do I just download Command Center from MyHive again?
     
  3. dwend

    dwend Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    84
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Messages:
    313
    Yah, I have the same problem, I did what you sugested, DL from my hive and install, its upgrading again now. Now I am have trouble with the update installing.
     
  4. dr3w

    dr3w Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    5
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    69
    Yes just download the new version of command center at your myhive and just run it. You dont have to uninstall anything coz in the middle of the update before the error message popped out about framework, it already uninstall the prev. version of command center.

    Make sure to install Microsoft.net framework 3.5 before installing it though.
     
  5. cha

    cha Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    149
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Messages:
    764
    Oh, thanks for that drew. I thought I did something wrong
     
  6. dexxe

    dexxe Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    8
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Messages:
    68
    when i start updating ,the download bar stops in the end ,and keeps there forever.
    note: i am using vista ult. x64 (findvikas guide)
     
  7. dwend

    dwend Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    84
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Messages:
    313
    Well The file is over 80mb, It seems that it is actually downloading it then, so if you have a slow connection it might take awile, mine did take over 7 min.

    Just finished updating and wow the touch controls are amazing now, I have scrolling!!!!!

    If you are having a problem when after it downloads it goes away and when you run CC update again it gives you a error message.
    Here is what to do.
    1) turn on View Hidden files, via control pannel/folder options.
    2) navigate to c:User/"youaccount"/AppData/Local/Temp
    3) locate & Run - CommandCenterSetup application
    4) This will make a new folder in Temp file called "IXP000.TMP"
    5) open that folder.
    6) Run Command Center 1.28SP1
    7) setup should run and install the new command center as well as a firmware update which is for the webcam.
     
  8. cha

    cha Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    149
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Messages:
    764
    Hoo boy, I downloaded the command center for mobile from www.alienware.co.uk. The download went on successfully, but upon running the installer I get this error

    Error reading setup initialization file.

    Is there any other place where I can download this file? Anyone downloaded and ran this program successfully from www.alienware.co.uk?
     
  9. dwend

    dwend Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    84
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Messages:
    313
    Try my little guide, I was having that exact same problem.
    If you are having a problem when after it downloads it goes away and when you run CC update again it gives you a error message.
    Here is what to do.
    1) turn on View Hidden files, via control pannel/folder options.
    2) navigate to c:User/"youaccount"/AppData/Local/Temp
    3) locate & Run - CommandCenterSetup application
    4) This will make a new folder in Temp file called "IXP000.TMP"
    5) open that folder.
    6) Run Command Center 1.28SP1
    7) setup should run and install the new command center as well as a firmware update which is for the webcam.
     
  10. findvikas

    findvikas Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    272
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,184
    EVERYONE WHO HAS 64BIT VISTA AND ENHANCED COMMAND CENTER, DO NOT INSTALL THIS NEW COMMAND CENTER. I WILL HAVE A LOOK AT IT TODAY AND SHARE MY VIEWS ON ITS 64BIT SUPPORT.
     

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page