1. You may have noticed things look a little different around here - we've switched to a new platform (XenForo) and have some new forum styles and features. This how-to guide will help you find your way around. If you find anything that looks strange, post it in this thread.

Comcast Internet Service: Do I NEED a technician to install it?Can I Self install? Or is this BS the reps are telling me..

Discussion in 'Networking and Wireless' started by Duke2007, Aug 28, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Duke2007

    Duke2007 Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    131
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,009
    I know I already have a topic about modem/router, but this is different.

    I called comcast and spoke with a rep and asked for pricing. They gave me different pricing that what was online. I asked why and she said "Oh that's probably expired thats why"

    HELLO...It expired on 9/30/2008. Bull****.

    Anyway I asked if it was necessary to have someone come install comcast for me for 50 bucks. she said yes if i am not a current cable customer, which i am not. GREAT...50 bucks for something i could do?

    So I asked if I could just buy a self install kit at bestbuy or something and do it myself. SHe said "you cant buy it because you arent a cable customer yet."

    OK..***. Then what's the point of self install kits at retail locations?

    I am so confused and this is my first time with this. I don't know why they have different pricing from comcast website and on the phone and also the run around with paying technitions for something i can easily do myself like this guy did:
    http://www.dynamicobjects.com/d2r/archives/003257.html

    And my future landlord said the apartment comes with cable connections already and is ready for cable and cable internet...so....

    help please!
     
  2. KPot2004

    KPot2004 Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    1,020
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Messages:
    499
    Is there currently cable in your house? If there has never been cable before in your house then you will have to pay the installation fee. If you have had cable before and all the coax is still intact then you should be able to install it yourself.

    EDIT: If your landlord said the connections are already there then you should not have any problem with the self install kit.
     
  3. Wirelessman

    Wirelessman Monkeymod

    Reputations:
    4,429
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Messages:
    4,401
    Ask the Bestbuy guys, they will tell you about the process with the kit. I just think you got a bad Comcast agent.
     
  4. Duke2007

    Duke2007 Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    131
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,009
    i called again and spoke with another person. they said "there is no way to get the internet self install if you are not a current customer. an agent would have to go out and inspect the apartment and setup first time users."

    me: "But the apartment comes equipped with cable connections already"

    "It doesnt matter, first time customers must always have an agent do the install"

    me: "So if i buy a self install kit at bestbuy i wont be able to use it whatsoever?"

    "no..once you connect it you will have to sign up for the service which for new customers is mandatory for an agent to install"

    sigh... im so confused..

    SHOULD I EVEN GET COMCAST?!!? What else is there available thats just as good? I'm not going to be d/l bunches of crap everyday, this is for college use. I really just need something thats reliable and quick enough for online college applications and software.
     
  5. Duke2007

    Duke2007 Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    131
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,009
    ok...now im really confused...

    I called best buy geek squad and they said "no...new customers get self install kits all the time. you dont have to have existing comcast services. The kit comes free when you sign up with comcast. just buy the modem and you're all set"

    so..what..the...****.

    i can't believe how difficult it is to get a straight answer.
     
  6. Wirelessman

    Wirelessman Monkeymod

    Reputations:
    4,429
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Messages:
    4,401
    You need to open an account with Comcast certainly, but I don't think you need them to install your network. Bestbuy is one retail post of sale use by Comcast, not to be able to get the kit and install it yourself it defeats the entire purpose of having that klit at Bestbuy.
     
  7. kegobeer

    kegobeer 1 hr late but moving fast

    Reputations:
    836
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    3,682
    Most cable providers require a technician to install the modem. The technician will set up the modem, contact the head end, and then pass the information that will be entered into their system which will authorize the use of the modem on their network. They also make sure the customer can connect to the 'net.

    Believe me, it's much better for the company to dispatch a technician for the installation. I'm certain the average "I can do it myself" customer would end up on the phone with tech support complaining that their modem doesn't work.
     
  8. Wirelessman

    Wirelessman Monkeymod

    Reputations:
    4,429
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Messages:
    4,401
    I don't understand why Comcast would charge for the technician, Verizon doesn't.
     
  9. kegobeer

    kegobeer 1 hr late but moving fast

    Reputations:
    836
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    3,682
    Don't compare one company's policies to another company's policies. Not only is each company different, but each market is different. Comcast might charge in the OP's area, but might not in my area.
     
  10. Wirelessman

    Wirelessman Monkeymod

    Reputations:
    4,429
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Messages:
    4,401
    Competition my friend, is all a question of competition. If Verizon is not present in that area, then Comcast will abuse the clients. Here in Maryland Comcast is giving almost everything free because Verizon/FIOS is kicking Comcast b....
     
Similar Threads: Comcast Internet
Forum Title Date
Networking and Wireless Confused with Internet (Comcast and Router) Jul 30, 2012
Networking and Wireless 30 mbps Comcast internet with WRT54G? Jan 10, 2009
Networking and Wireless Comcast cable internet... Which Modem to buy? Which Wireless router? Aug 27, 2008
Networking and Wireless comcast high speed internet Jul 24, 2008
Networking and Wireless Need help with Comcast cable internet and Linksys WRT54G May 22, 2008

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page