College Student Who Needs to Buy a New Laptop

Discussion in 'What Notebook Should I Buy?' started by Daneedslaptop, Sep 29, 2020.

1. Daneedslaptop

Daneedslaptop Newbie

Reputations:
    Hello everyone! I guess it's about time - my laptop has been slowly dying on me. It's (I am pretty sure) a Dell Inspiron 5520, i7 2.10 Ghz, 8GB (RAM), Windows 8.1, and storage of 930 GB.

I am a student majoring in economic and finance, and I will pursue my master's degree in finance. I use Excel quite often, and I would like to use some trading software on my computer.

I am a very curious guy; I always have around 10-20+ tabs open - I just gather information all the time. I sometimes watch movies or TV shows on my computer, but not very often. Most of my usage has been mentioned: school work, Excel, Internet (lots of tabs), office, YouTube, and probably some software for my master's degree.

*I am considering a touch screen laptop, as well. I have a small inclination towards HP, but not something extraordinary.

I hope you got all you need :)
    ------
    General Questions

1) What is your budget? - I am trying to be as thrifty as possible. But I'd $800-$850 if it's a really crazily good laptop (somewhere around $500-750$ would be more 'acceptable').

2) What size notebook would you prefer?
    d. Mainstream; 15" - 16" screen
    e. Desktop Replacement; 17"+ screen

Between 15-17; I like big screens.

3) Which country will you buying this notebook? United States.

4) Are there any brands that you prefer or any you really don't like?
    a. Like: HP, ASUS (and Dell, but I might want to get a new brand)
    b. Dislike: Not necessarily.
    5) Would you consider laptops that are refurbished/redistributed? If it's a really good deal.

6) What are the primary tasks will you be performing with this notebook? Mostly schooling, Excel, Internet, office, YouTube. I do tend to open MANY tabs (20+ easily).