1. You may have noticed things look a little different around here - we've switched to a new platform (XenForo) and have some new forum styles and features. This how-to guide will help you find your way around. If you find anything that looks strange, post it in this thread.

Cloning X61 To A New Hard Drive

Discussion in 'Lenovo' started by Ci3reR, Oct 5, 2011.

  1. Ci3reR

    Ci3reR Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Hello All,

    I am going to upgrade my X61's hard drive to a 500GB one.

    How to clone the entire files in my old hard drive to the new one? Including Lenovo hidden partition/HPA.

    I tried to browsed for information but still could not find the solution which includes cloning the hidden partition.

    Is Acronis True Image Home 2012 able to handle this?

    Thanks a lot for your help..! :)
     
  2. Tsunade_Hime

    Tsunade_Hime such bacon. wow Super Moderator

    Reputations:
    5,392
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Messages:
    10,519
    Yes True Image can do this. There should be an option to resize the partitions so you don't end up with a whole bunch of leftover space as a separate partition (unless that is what you really want).
     
  3. Ci3reR

    Ci3reR Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Thanks Tsunade for your reply.

    Do I actually have to do this?

    I read it from Lenovo forum for T61p, the process should be similar though.

    However, it's kinda complicated if I have to switch the hard drive to clone, especially X61 does not have internal CD writer. The topic elaboration is here.
     
  4. mariol90

    mariol90 Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    167
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Messages:
    108
    That is one of the ways to do it.

    "IPnaSh wrote:

    The easiest and quickest way to clone a disk is connecting both disk on a desktop computer, and start then the cloning process with any disk cloning tool."
    that's how I do it, and i've never had a problem. Thinkpads are no different than any other laptop in that aspect, so I'm not sure why the other person said " Cloning the drive in another system is 99.9% doomed to failure". the failure is pretty much completely dependent on the OS. if the drive won't boot, usually a repair using a windows 7 OS disc fixes the issue.
    if the special lenovo partitions are that picky, it's still worth a try if you have access to a computer where you can connect both hard drives.

    I'm using a hard drive in my X61 tablet that has a windows 7 install which was cloned several times (using true image and driveimage XML), and was originally from a hp laptop.
     
  5. John Ratsey

    John Ratsey Moderately inquisitive Super Moderator

    Reputations:
    6,602
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Messages:
    26,187
    My SSD (cloned using Acronis) includes two hidden partitions, so Acronis can handle them. I always do my cloning using a bootable CD. Clone with the original disc still inside. Then once the process has finished shut the machine down and swap the HDD.

    John
     
  6. Ci3reR

    Ci3reR Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Hi everyone, thanks a lot for your help!
    I had my hard drive arrived just now, but I am still waiting for the case (still not come yet). I have a case which is being used for around 80GB.

    If i take out the 120GB (the main one) into this case, would it be fit?
    Then I will insert my 500GB to the laptop and do the cloning from bootable USB drive.

    Do I have to have a licensed True Image to create a bootable drive? Or will the trial one work?
     

Share This Page