1. Due to platform maintenance, the forum will be inaccessible for about 30 minutes beginning about 1:30 p.m. Sorry for any inconvenience! We'll remove this notice when work is complete.

Cloning the Dell Hard Drive Image

Discussion in 'Dell' started by doggie, Oct 9, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. doggie

    doggie Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    So I want to make a backup of the hard drive as it was delivered by Dell, with the hidden partitions, etc before I install Linux.

    How can I do this?
     
  2. Les

    Les Not associated with NotebookReview in any way

    Reputations:
    4,706
    Messages:
    5,391
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Get Acronis Disk Image Trial version. It lasts 15 days but is free and you can make a complete disk backup. the backup as no time limitations.
     
  3. Anzial

    Anzial Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    7
    Messages:
    611
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    acronis will screw up the MBR and MediaDirect partition won't work any more after the cloning.
     
  4. Devedander

    Devedander Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    12
    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    I thought the 15 day trial of acronis didn't let you make bootable media? So how would you get an image without loggin into windows? Or am I missunderstanding the issue (sounds to me like someone wants an image of it before accepting the EULA).
     
  5. Les

    Les Not associated with NotebookReview in any way

    Reputations:
    4,706
    Messages:
    5,391
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Acronis works fine. You log into windows, install the trial, backup the system to disk and its done...
     
  6. Devedander

    Devedander Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    12
    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    OIC I was thinking he wants to back up the drive before he gets windows loaded (ie the way it ships from dell... gotta accept EULA, do initial setup etc) the only way to do that is the bootable disc.
     
  7. Anzial

    Anzial Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    7
    Messages:
    611
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Care to elaborate? I've made a backup of the original Dell HDD image using acronis, then used the image to create a copy of the factory hdd, vista worked on the copy but MediaDirect didn't. Every time I try booting computer using mediadirect button it takes me to vista and launches media direct there instead of going to the mediadirect partition. THe original, of course, works just fine, but the copy is screwed up.
     
  8. Les

    Les Not associated with NotebookReview in any way

    Reputations:
    4,706
    Messages:
    5,391
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I dont really understand... if the original backup disk works fine then it performed correctly no?

    Next, although I havent used Acronis in3-4 months, I recall it doing the exact backup you want. If you want a complete system backup, it will give you exactly that. When I tested it and then restored the Acronis System Image after its expiry date, it worked perfect (and this was with a MD3/Vista/XP boot setup.

    You seem to be describing that you only backed up the OS or that you created a backup of the factory Image and then tried to back that up from disk once again?.
     
  9. Anzial

    Anzial Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    7
    Messages:
    611
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    i backed up the whole thing. WHen I made a copy of the drive using the image or using the cloning, either way the MediaDirect partition got disabled. Acronis does not do it's job of copying the MBR properly or something, 'cause the MediaDirect partition hook up gets broken.
     
  10. Devedander

    Devedander Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    12
    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Interesting... I made a backup of one of my vostro drives specifically to get the working MD partition. Now it's a bit fuzzy exactly what steps I took (because I have done so many) but I am pretty sure the full HD Backup I did with Acronis restored a working MD partition.

    In fact I used that exact feature to get MD working on my Vostro that, for whatever reason, would not install MD right using the MD restore CD by imaging the working drive, then putting that image on the drive of the one that didn't work.
     
Similar Threads: Cloning Dell
Forum Title Date
Dell XPSM1710-Cloning HD to upgrade to larger drive Jan 1, 2008
Dell Cloning hard drive question Nov 16, 2007
Dell Cloning New HardDisk Sep 7, 2007
Dell Cloning 9300 hard drive Aug 4, 2005
Dell DELL M 6400 Jun 19, 2015

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page