clevo p170EM gtx 970m not detected

Discussion in 'Sager and Clevo' started by msd1994, Mar 25, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Prostar Computer

    Prostar Computer Company Representative

    Reputations:
    1,257
    Messages:
    7,426
    Likes Received:
    1,016
    Trophy Points:
    331
    It's common for them to not be listed in the BIOS. With the right firmware (which it sounds like you have) and new drivers, the card should work.
     
  2. msd1994

    msd1994 Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Well, the game ran but it was lower FPS than what I got with my 675mx so I assumed it was running off the integrated. My power supply is a 19.5V * 11.8A (around 230 watts). This should be sufficient to power the 970m, correct?
     
  3. msd1994

    msd1994 Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    16
    It was from a RJTech, a clevo supplier, though it was sold for the sm-a series, I was recommended to that site and they knew I was getting it for the EM series so I would assume it would work.
     
  4. Ethrem

    Ethrem Notebook Prophet

    Reputations:
    1,404
    Messages:
    6,706
    Likes Received:
    4,735
    Trophy Points:
    431
    So you haven't had any luck reinstalling everything?
     
  5. msd1994

    msd1994 Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I have been busy with school. I am going to try again today after my classes, and hopefully have better luck. I did a little more looking around and found that the graphics cards running on the latest driver (ends in 88) have had throttling issues, which was the driver I installed but didn't have my 675mx running on. This could explain the lower fps, I will know in a few hours with any luck.
     
  6. msd1994

    msd1994 Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    16
    It's working now! I think the problem was optimus not choosing the correct card. Thank you!
     
    Mr Najsman and Ethrem like this.
  7. Ethrem

    Ethrem Notebook Prophet

    Reputations:
    1,404
    Messages:
    6,706
    Likes Received:
    4,735
    Trophy Points:
    431
    Glad to hear it's working now!
     
    msd1994 likes this.
  8. ashes0809

    ashes0809 Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Hi mssd1994, I'm glad i came across this post. been searching high and low for it. I'm about to do the same as you did for your p170EM and would really appreciate if you could provide me with more info on the prema's bios and vbios that you're using?

    Do you have a step-by-step by any chance?
     
  9. CaerCadarn

    CaerCadarn Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    317
    Messages:
    1,138
    Likes Received:
    1,106
    Trophy Points:
    181
    @msd1994: Hope you're out there somewhere! As it seems that other People have the same issue including myself, I (we) would very appreciate, if you could explain what steps and in which order you've succeeded in reviving the Card. :bigyes:
     
  10. CaerCadarn

    CaerCadarn Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    317
    Messages:
    1,138
    Likes Received:
    1,106
    Trophy Points:
    181
    Got it sorted out finally! ;)

    For all those who still have this issue, I try to explain how to do it.

    Mandatory:
    - Flash latest PremaMod BIOS to your rig
    - Flash latest PremaMod VBIOS onto your Card -> see Guide - Step by Step

    https://biosmods.wordpress.com/

    AND DON'T FORGET TO FLIP IN SOME COINS FOR A BEER OR MANY OR THE WRATH OF BAD LUCK WILL FALL UPON YOU! :elvis::bigwink:

    Prerequisites:

    DDU (Display Driver Uninstaller)
    (latest) Intel HD Driver
    (latest) Nvidia Driver

    Guide - Step by Step:
    - load DDU in safe Mode and uninstall Nvidia Driver first - Reboot!
    - load DDU again in safe Mode and uninstall Intel Driver
    - hit the button "Switch Windows automatic updates to Standard" to prevent WinGoofs installing the Windows Driver for your Card (you have to change the Settings afterwards then)
    - Close DDU by hitting "Turn off your Computer to install new Card"

    - swap your Cards and turn your rig on -> now Flash latest PremaMod VBIOS onto your Card! - Reboot!

    - install Intel HD Drivers first - Reboot!
    - install Nvidia Divers afterwards and make sure you install it via custom install and hit the button "new installation" -> if the Installation fails due to Nvidia Driver Installation can't find compatible Hardware, you're in serious trouble/Card may be faulty....

    Troubleshooting:
    - if Installation fails, try another driver Version and/or force it with Driver signature deactivated
    -
    if it fails again, try modded Drivers via laptopvideo2go or mod the appropriate .inf file by adding your device ID

    - if that fails your card is probably faulty in one or another way
    - if Installation succeeded check Nvidia Control Panel for appropriate Settings -> try another Tools like GPU-Z and/or Nvidia Inspector to get sure the Card is recognised properly
    - run some benchmarking Tools like 3DMark to check, if the score matches your cards Performance!

    Hope, I could be of some help! If you have something to add, then feel free to do so! :vbthumbsup:


    Cheers!
     
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2015
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page