Clevo EGPU?? N850hk1 with tb3?

Discussion in 'Sager and Clevo' started by sicily428, Feb 23, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sicily428

    sicily428 Donuts!! :)

    Reputations:
    780
    Messages:
    3,579
    Likes Received:
    1,946
    Trophy Points:
    231
    At last COMPUTEX2016/CES2017 many egpu are presented by asus, msi, zotac, gigabyte, acer.
    do you think that clevo could make an egpu? clevo could make also a lightweight laptop like a clevo n850hk1 with a thunderbolt3 port for egpu as an alternative for users that buy a dell xps 15 or an msi gs63?
     
    hmscott likes this.
  2. bobthedespot

    bobthedespot Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    75
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    41
    My p750DM works with the Razer Core over thunderbolt 3.
     
    hmscott and sicily428 like this.
  3. sicily428

    sicily428 Donuts!! :)

    Reputations:
    780
    Messages:
    3,579
    Likes Received:
    1,946
    Trophy Points:
    231
    this is good! what gpu do you use inside the razer core? do you have some benchmark?
     
  4. Meaker@Sager

    Meaker@Sager Company Representative

    Reputations:
    8,213
    Messages:
    51,947
    Likes Received:
    14,840
    Trophy Points:
    931


    I found this test quite interesting.
     
    dm477 and hmscott like this.
  5. sicily428

    sicily428 Donuts!! :)

    Reputations:
    780
    Messages:
    3,579
    Likes Received:
    1,946
    Trophy Points:
    231
    great video! :vbeek:
    with a razer core or akitio node/mantiza saturn is it the same?
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Apr 7, 2017
  6. bloodhawk

    bloodhawk Derailer of threads.

    Reputations:
    2,954
    Messages:
    5,851
    Likes Received:
    8,561
    Trophy Points:
    681
    Every tb3 eGPU will be the same. But also depends on the lanes/CPU and if it's full duplex or not.
     
    Last edited: Feb 23, 2017
  7. sicily428

    sicily428 Donuts!! :)

    Reputations:
    780
    Messages:
    3,579
    Likes Received:
    1,946
    Trophy Points:
    231
    yes i know about issues with dell xps 9550 for the tb3 pcie x2 at 16g/s but in msi laptops there is a tb3 pcie x4 at 32g/s.:vbconfused:
     
  8. bloodhawk

    bloodhawk Derailer of threads.

    Reputations:
    2,954
    Messages:
    5,851
    Likes Received:
    8,561
    Trophy Points:
    681
    Looking at the video posted above by @Meaker@Sager , I would assume so.
     
  9. Meaker@Sager

    Meaker@Sager Company Representative

    Reputations:
    8,213
    Messages:
    51,947
    Likes Received:
    14,840
    Trophy Points:
    931
    It's not just the bandwidth, there is extra latency added in with the extra steps to communicate with the GPU.
     
  10. sicily428

    sicily428 Donuts!! :)

    Reputations:
    780
    Messages:
    3,579
    Likes Received:
    1,946
    Trophy Points:
    231
    This could be a problem for the use of a gpu nvidia quadro p4000 and a cad3d programs as solidworks, catia or fem as ansys or adams or graphic as photoshop or illustrator? And with cfd software?
     
    Last edited: Feb 23, 2017
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page