Clevo 870dm-G and msi gtx 1070

Discussion in 'Sager and Clevo' started by majster msi, Jul 16, 2017.

  1. thegh0sts

    thegh0sts Notebook Nobel Laureate

    Reputations:
    850
    Messages:
    7,005
    Likes Received:
    2,401
    Trophy Points:
    331
    plug in a monitor.
     
  2. majster msi

    majster msi Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    94
    Messages:
    464
    Likes Received:
    64
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Hdmi doesn`t work - no display. I think that image through hdmi will be only @ operating system, as far as I know in msi gt72vr display through hdmi/mini dp is only when driver start with operating system. Clevo 870 has display through hdmi in bios / Post procedure ?
     
  3. Meaker@Sager

    Meaker@Sager Company Representative

    Reputations:
    6,918
    Messages:
    43,095
    Likes Received:
    10,683
    Trophy Points:
    931
    I don't think you can get digital displays out due to the architecture of the system. VGA ports used to be really useful as they would show the post screens.
     
  4. bennyg

    bennyg Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    296
    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    466
    Trophy Points:
    101
    I have seen the post splash screen on the p370em out of the HDMI right from power on, via passive adapter to DVI-in on the monitor. Its usually on restart, since the monitor usually takes that long to detect and power on that its already at the loading or login screen
     
  5. majster msi

    majster msi Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    94
    Messages:
    464
    Likes Received:
    64
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Got it :) in bios it was legacy by default ... I swaped vga for gtx 460 so I could see something and change in bios for uefi mode. Now I have display on hdmi :) however I cant flash gtx 1070 using nvflash in windows. It refuse to flash it using all sort of commands nvflash -6 bios.rom, nvflash -f -6 bios.rom etc... I got id mismatch message :( . I will use programator tomorrow to override it !
     
  6. hacktrix2006

    hacktrix2006 Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    164
    Messages:
    448
    Likes Received:
    238
    Trophy Points:
    56
    You have to flash a non gsync vbios majster msi I have a collection of them already for non gsync and gsync for MSI gtx 1070 / gtx 1060 however make sure you backup original vbios first.

    If the one posted is for the 1BE1 not 1BA1 (which you have) you'll brick ya card. I have a few for 1BA1.

    Also let me guess the digit sections on the card are 10DE 1BA1 000 0000 when it should be 10DE 1BA1 1462 11FF MSI made sure it couldn't be run in laptops with their cancerware vbios tricks.

    Here you go Non-Gsync firmware that is known to work on Vortex GTX 1070 MXM cards with 1BA1 : https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/190114/190114


    You should be able to save the bios with nvflash using

    Code:
    nvflash -s backup.rom
    
    without issues

    Sent from my MotoG3 using Tapatalk
     
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2017
  7. majster msi

    majster msi Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    94
    Messages:
    464
    Likes Received:
    64
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Thanks hactrix2006 , I will dump original vbios today and will send it to you. I will use spi programmer today to baypass all problems wit nvflash in windows ;). In future I will verify differences between gsync and non gsync vga boards. Maybe in future gsync will be available in clevo 870 dmg or gt72 :).
     
  8. thegh0sts

    thegh0sts Notebook Nobel Laureate

    Reputations:
    850
    Messages:
    7,005
    Likes Received:
    2,401
    Trophy Points:
    331
    That has to do with the motherboard not being compatible with the GPU as it doesn't have the GPU ID listed. so therefore it's not a vbios issue, it's a BIOS issue and I doubt that clevo will update it to do so.
     
  9. bennyg

    bennyg Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    296
    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    466
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Is there a later 1BA1 you have than 86.04.42.00.03?
     
  10. hacktrix2006

    hacktrix2006 Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    164
    Messages:
    448
    Likes Received:
    238
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Benny i can't find any later ones. Since MSI has done the Website update most of the vbios files have gone. Thats also the only one there too for 1BA1 cards.

    @majster msi The how G-Sync works is complicated as with all things Nvidia. In the System Bios / EC there is a G-Sync Licence Cookie in that cookie is Device ID's, Panel ID's the works. Its also encrypted so other then one person that managed to mod the cookie and we know what Nvidia did to that person, the chances are next to none on getting G-Sync working unless a OEM decides to re-validate their old systems with Nvidia to get a new Cookie file to include into a bios update. That costs a Licence Fee which i bet my lack of wealth on will be expensive.
     
Loading...

Share This Page