1. You may have noticed things look a little different around here - we've switched to a new platform (XenForo) and have some new forum styles and features. This how-to guide will help you find your way around. If you find anything that looks strange, post it in this thread.

Chrome works, internet explorer doesn't?

Discussion in 'Windows OS and Software' started by coyote_5, Jun 2, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. coyote_5

    coyote_5 Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    I just got my R500 a week and a half or so ago. IE8 worked fine. Then I downloaded Chrome about a week ago, which also worked fine. I didn't use IE again until my wife tried it yesterday, and it won't work at all on her user account or my admin account. The app opens up but hangs up almost immediately. My network connection is fine though, I'm posting this through google chrome on the same pc.

    Anyone have this issue or heard of this issue & solutions hopefully?
     
  2. Padmé

    Padmé NBR Super Pink Princess

    Reputations:
    4,674
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    Messages:
    3,803
    What is your OS? Have you checked to see if you have any updates? Also do you have a restore point?
     
  3. coyote_5

    coyote_5 Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Vista Premium 32, no restore points, though I did make the system restore cds.
     
  4. coyote_5

    coyote_5 Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Ugh, I thought I'd go to her user account and use Chrome, but I can't even find it through her account, only mine. This can't be right can it?? I'm a total Vista noob, so I'm hoping my frustration is misplaced...
     
  5. coyote_5

    coyote_5 Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Long story short, my new question is, how do I get chrome to work on my wife's user account, when it was installed through my admin account?? (Vista Premium)
     
  6. Wingsbr

    Wingsbr NBR Decepticon NBR Reviewer

    Reputations:
    199
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2007
    Messages:
    807
    Did you specify "install for all users of this computer" when you installed as admin? Sometimes it defaults to this user only and then you (the original installer) would be the only that can use it.

    Try to uninstall, use CCleaner to remove any traces of google chrome from the registry, reinstall and make sure that selection is checked.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page