1. Due to platform maintenance, the forum will be inaccessible for about 30 minutes beginning about 1:30 p.m. Sorry for any inconvenience! We'll remove this notice when work is complete.

Changing WEP to WPA - linksys

Discussion in 'Networking and Wireless' started by haywire, Aug 25, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. haywire

    haywire Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Hi everyone,
    I tried to change the level of security on my laptop from WEP to WPA using the "Change advanced settings" but afterwards, I was unable to connect to the internet. I removed the only available network from the list and added it again and was able to connect, but only with WEP security. I'm using a Linksys WRT54G and was wondering if I'm going about changing it to WPA correctly.

    Do I have to plug my laptop into the router and go to the 198.XXX.XXX page and change the security settings from there? Or can the router remain plugged into the desktop and change it via there? Also, I was reading about downloading the Windows hotfix for WPAPSK, would that also be required for the laptop? I guess I don't understand if the level of security is actually "within" the router's settings (after we set it) or if it's on each computer that connects to the router, that is, we have to change the level of security on each computer. :confused:

    Thanks in advance for your help :eek:
     
  2. Shnoob

    Shnoob Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    2
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    Need to change the security on the router to WPA first then change the client settings on any pc that connects wirelessly to it.
     
  3. blue68f100

    blue68f100 Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    1,020
    Messages:
    3,439
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    105
    Yes, You do need to make the change to the router to. YOU MUST DO THIS THROUGH A WIRED CONNECTION. As you make changes you will loose your wireless. Till you get bot PC and router setup with the same key. Wile you are in there set the radio for "G Only" If you have no 11b products.
     
  4. downloads

    downloads Super Moderator Super Moderator

    Reputations:
    6,281
    Messages:
    7,756
    Likes Received:
    630
    Trophy Points:
    281
    Log in to the router (preferably via wire as you'll need to reset wireless)- so go to 192.168.1.1 and than change settings to WPA 2 PSK (AES). Than change your laptop settings as well- if your XP is update you can use WPA.

    You don't need to set WEP, WPA or WPA2 on the laptop- it' the router who decides what is the security scheme- you just need to set the same passphrase on both. So set the WPA2 and if it doesn't work fall back to WPA.

    Regards
     
  5. Thaenatos

    Thaenatos Zero Cool

    Reputations:
    1,564
    Messages:
    5,304
    Likes Received:
    64
    Trophy Points:
    216
    changing the encryption type on the laptop wont change the router. If it did then all someone would have to do is change the excryption type without logging into the router. Login as they have stated above.
     
  6. haywire

    haywire Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Thanks for the (quick!) replies everyone. Could I just clarify something please? Once I change the security setting on the router via my wired desktop, I should then turn on my laptop, see the available wireless networks, select it, and then change its security settings and passphrase etc. via the "Change advanced settings" to match those that I just changed at the 192.168.1.1 site? Then I should restart my laptop and will I have to enter the passphrase each time or is it automatic? When it was on WEP I was connected automatically.

    Thanks again for your help. :eek:
     
  7. Luar

    Luar Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    12
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    It should be automatic after you setup your laptop for WKA.

    I just did all that you outlined last week and it was a huge pain as I never updated the firmware on my LinkSys router in the 2 years that I've had it. Updating the firmware made a huge difference.
     
  8. haywire

    haywire Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    What's WKA? :confused: How do I setup my laptop for WKA? Do you mean once I turn on the laptop it'll automatically list the wireless network in my house and under advanced settings it'll be for WPA? I'm sorry, I don't quite understand.
     
  9. Pitabred

    Pitabred Linux geek con rat flail!

    Reputations:
    3,295
    Messages:
    7,113
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    206
    He probably meant WPA. WKA isn't anything as far as I know. And yes, it will automatically connect to a WPA protected network just as it connected to your WEP protected network. Windows will save the password if you ask it to.
    It's really not too hard. You can do it all without a reboot of anything but the router.
    For Windows, after you have set your router up to use WPA encryption and rebooted the router with the wired connection as outlined above, you just browse for the wireless network (I assume you can see your network when browsing for wireless connections), connect, and Windows should ask you for a password. Enter the password you set WPA up to use, and tell Windows to always automatically connect to that network. You should then be done.
     
  10. haywire

    haywire Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Sorry to be such a pest, but by reboot router, do you mean I have to reset my router by pressing that orange button and then log on to the 198.XXX site? Or do I just turn on desktop, turn on modem and router, change settings on the 198.XXX page to WPA encryption, save settings and then turn on laptop and follow the steps you just outlined? Thanks for your help. :eek:
     
Similar Threads: Changing linksys
Forum Title Date
Networking and Wireless Changing wireless to wired internet Mar 19, 2012
Networking and Wireless Will I gain anything by changing the router Sep 15, 2011
Networking and Wireless Problems changing my i.p address... Sep 3, 2011
Networking and Wireless "Speed" of Wireless Network Connction changing constantly Jun 6, 2011
Networking and Wireless Changing Internet Service Providers ??? Oct 26, 2009

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page