CF-53S LED Backlight went out.

Discussion in 'Panasonic' started by Psychowolff, May 5, 2018.

  1. safn1949

    safn1949 I'm sure I'm on the wrong planet

    Reputations:
    128
    Messages:
    1,042
    Likes Received:
    273
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Obviously the backlight is out. Now we need to see if it's the board or just a bad LCD. An LCD is pretty cheap for a 53 non-touch. Say $45 but I haven't fooled with them enough to know if the touch is built into the screen, I bet it is...Shawn?

    If so it is time to break out the digital multimeter and start measuring voltages. Reason #1 why I dislike CF-53's. I still say board, hope I'm wrong and the cable got tweaked. I'll leave out the part where if it got grounded...poof.:eek::D
     
  2. Shawn

    Shawn Crackpot Search Ninja and Options Whore

    Reputations:
    1,450
    Messages:
    7,162
    Likes Received:
    1,273
    Trophy Points:
    331
    IF YOU USE A METER---DISCONNECT POWER AND REMOVE BATTERY.
    THEN HOLD POWER BUTTON DOWN FOR 30 SECONDS. CHECK CONTINUITY FIRST


    Yes touch is built in.
    I do have an almost new cable.

    I say you wont need a meter. Pop the panel off above the keyboard and have a look see.
    Magic smoke leaves tracks.
     
    safn1949 and toughasnails like this.
  3. PressF2

    PressF2 Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    I have a CF-30 that did the same thing years back. I tried everything and as a final resort I reflashed the existing bios and it worked. Maybe try that.
     
  4. Shawn

    Shawn Crackpot Search Ninja and Options Whore

    Reputations:
    1,450
    Messages:
    7,162
    Likes Received:
    1,273
    Trophy Points:
    331
    Flash is worth a try, but 53's have known hardware video issues
     
  5. Psychowolff

    Psychowolff Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Well. No magical smoke trails in there. Reseated the cable and still nothing but where the cable is routed into the screen is pretty messed up, like they didn’t care it was routed right or not. Doesn’t look like the Sherrifs IT Tech opened it either

    I’ll try hooking it to an external monitor when the sun goes down.

    Thanks for all the Advice and pointers guys!!
     

    Attached Files:

  6. safn1949

    safn1949 I'm sure I'm on the wrong planet

    Reputations:
    128
    Messages:
    1,042
    Likes Received:
    273
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Second photo, looks burned to me but my vision is not great. Right side of the connection next to the big Phillips screwdriver.

    If not then the cable could have a broken wire inside, seen that a lot on Chromebooks and some others. Ok, I'm going to tell you the horror story of the CF-31, Shawn will confirm.

    IF you get a new cable to the LCD, it probably will not be marked and on the 31 at least you can install it upside down...thus loosing at that time $1000 when it smokes the motherboard. So don't do that, it hurts...lol. :eek:
     
    Last edited: May 21, 2018 at 1:23 AM
Loading...

Share This Page