CF-29 fn key issue (I apologize in advance)

Discussion in 'Panasonic' started by rpm90001, Apr 15, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Springfield

    Springfield Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    507
    Messages:
    940
    Likes Received:
    126
    Trophy Points:
    56
  2. rpm90001

    rpm90001 Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    I did add 1g stick when i got it. should I buy a 2g? I do get a low memory alarm from Nortons AV when on firefox. I thought I could only add 1g.

    On another note, I down loaded the hotkey driver from the link in one one the last post, downloaded, then is said it was unpacking files (or some thing like that) so i gues it downloaded. Is there something else I need to do? the only key that works is F12 to adjust the key board. I mostly want to get the volume to work. what am i missing.

    PS..Does anyone else think the rubber keyboard is hard to use?
     
  3. TopCop1988

    TopCop1988 Toughbook Aficionado

    Reputations:
    456
    Messages:
    1,786
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    56
    The "low memory" error message is a function of the Advanced Settings in Windows:

    [Start] → Settings → Control Panel → System → Advanced → Performance [Settings] → Advanced → Virtual memory [Change]

    The thread about the 2GB memory module in the 256MB Base RAM Mk4 and Mk5 CF-29s is here:

    Everyone told me not to do it!


    "If all else fails, read the [Installation] Instructions." ;) :cool:

    It's for protection of the unit in harsh conditions; not for "speed typing."
     
  4. Driller

    Driller Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    133
    Messages:
    518
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    30
    ditto on the keyboard, check techtoughs ide to sata adapter and you can go with bigger hdd that is sata instead of ide. he has a combo caddy and sata adapter combo that is a deal. max ide hdd is 320 and sata is 500-750gb may be even greater with win7 so whatever tickles....Driller
     
  5. rpm90001

    rpm90001 Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    topcop1988,

    I looked for instructions, but did not see any. The link you posted really did not show anything for the hotkey driver. Unless im missing something.

    I do know what I did, did not work. I have to admit... I did not know I had to press the fn key along with the desired fkey.

    Thanks,
    George
     
  6. TopCop1988

    TopCop1988 Toughbook Aficionado

    Reputations:
    456
    Messages:
    1,786
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    56
    OK, George; here's the related installation instructions from the .pdf file from the link posted previously.

    Translating the linear instructions to vertical:

    Software name - Details
    Hotkey Appendix

    File name
    hkeyapp_29_4_d050640.exe

    Ahead developing folder
    c:\util2\hkeyapp

    Installation procedure
    Executing "setup.exe"

    Installation procedure - details
    xxxx

    Related driver etc.
    yes

    Related driver etc. - details
    Hotkey Driver, Hotkey Settings

    Notice
    xxxx

    <+>

    Software name - Details
    Hotkey Driver

    File name
    hotkey_29_4_d030475.exe

    Ahead developing folder
    c:\util2\drivers\hotkey

    Installation procedure
    Executing [Update driver..] in the device manager

    Installation procedure - details
    xxxx

    Related driver etc.
    yes

    Related driver etc. - details
    Hotkey Settings, Hotkey Appendix

    Notice
    xxxx

    <+>

    Software name - Details
    Hotkey Settings

    File name
    hkeyset_29_4_d030477.exe

    Ahead developing folder
    c:\util2\hkeyset

    Installation procedure
    Executing "setup.exe"

    Installation procedure - details
    xxxx

    Related driver etc.
    yes

    Related driver etc. - details
    Hotkey Driver, Hotkey Appendix

    Notice
    xxxx

    The "Ahead developing folder" means the folder created on the hard drive upon executing the downloaded file, and "xxxx" means there was no entry in the instruction box.

    All of those files are downloaded from the other link previously provided.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page