CF-29 (and others) halt on suspend issue under linux

Discussion in 'Panasonic' started by kln_nurv, Sep 26, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. kln_nurv

    kln_nurv Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Generally distros that are new enough to have systemd have other issue on old machines, so I havent used them. I've tried "pm-suspend" many times and the result is always a hard freeze with blank screen but power still on. I havent tried "pmi action suspend" before though.
     
  2. CWB32

    CWB32 Need parts for my flying saucer.

    Reputations:
    179
    Messages:
    1,565
    Likes Received:
    412
    Trophy Points:
    101
    i have noticed that many (most all ?) of the newer versions simply will not load correctly or even "run" if one gets past loading them .
    in some cases an older machine can be bricked while attempting to load an 'nix OS ...
    i found out that toshiba machines seem to enjoy a higher than average rate/fate when it comes to this matter .
     
  3. kode-niner

    kode-niner Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    27
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    95
    Trophy Points:
    41
    In that case
    It's good that you can recreate the bug with pm-suspend because now you can troubleshoot by adding arguments to the command as well as add a few config vars in a file in /etc/pm/config.d

    Read the man page for pm-suspend!

    For the config file, create /etc/pm/config.d/suspend.conf then check the man page's section on configuration variables to stick in the file. If you think wifi is the culprit, there's a variable for unloading modules before suspend that could be a workaround, like SUSPEND_MODULES = mac80211 or something.
     
    Last edited: Sep 29, 2016
  4. SHEEPMAN!

    SHEEPMAN! Freelance

    Reputations:
    868
    Messages:
    2,656
    Likes Received:
    474
    Trophy Points:
    101
    OP I have messed with this for a bit. What I found.....

    1. Mint 18 suspend no workie on MK4. (29)
    2. Mint 18 suspend works on MK2. (29) Same drive as above.
    3. Mint 17.1 to 17.3 suspend works. Ummm these were CF-30, 31 and 53.

    I won't try to say what it means. Info only.
     
    kode-niner and Shawn like this.
  5. SHEEPMAN!

    SHEEPMAN! Freelance

    Reputations:
    868
    Messages:
    2,656
    Likes Received:
    474
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Double post different topic so I approve it. :D

    Here is sample early MX-14 on a 29MK2....a portion of dmesg. I don't use IPv6 so ignore the errors.

    EDIT: SUSPEND WORKS! END EDIT

    25.844510] Bluetooth: BNEP socket layer initialized
    [ 29.792843] 8139too 0000:02:02.0 eth2: link down
    [ 29.792938] IPv6: ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): eth2: link is not ready
    [ 31.172626] lib80211_crypt: registered algorithm 'TKIP'
    [ 40.382338] fuse init (API version 7.22)
    [ 99.867657] PM: Syncing filesystems ... done.
    [ 100.049125] PM: Preparing system for mem sleep
    [ 100.049270] Freezing user space processes ... (elapsed 0.001 seconds) done.
    [ 100.050507] Freezing remaining freezable tasks ... (elapsed 0.001 seconds) done.
    [ 100.051603] PM: Entering mem sleep
    [ 100.051626] Suspending console(s) (use no_console_suspend to debug)
    [ 100.051932] sd 0:0:0:0: [sda] Synchronizing SCSI cache
    [ 100.080238] parport_pc 00:09: disabled
    [ 100.083395] serial 00:08: disabled
    [ 100.083460] eth3: Going into suspend...
    [ 100.083720] sd 0:0:0:0: [sda] Stopping disk
    [ 100.569501] PM: suspend of devices complete after 517.699 msecs
    [ 100.569602] PM: late suspend of devices complete after 0.096 msecs
    [ 100.584141] PM: noirq suspend of devices complete after 14.535 msecs
    [ 100.584376] ACPI: Preparing to enter system sleep state S3
    [ 100.820783] PM: Saving platform NVS memory
    [ 100.820783] ACPI: Low-level resume complete
    [ 100.820783] PM: Restoring platform NVS memory
    [ 100.820960] ACPI: Waking up from system sleep state S3
    [ 101.592100] yenta_cardbus 0000:02:00.0: proprietary Ricoh MMC controller disabled (via cardbus function)
    [ 101.592103] yenta_cardbus 0000:02:00.0: MMC cards are now supported by standard SDHCI controller
    [ 101.608335] PM: noirq resume of devices complete after 563.295 msecs
    [ 101.608436] PM: early resume of devices complete after 0.060 msecs
    [ 101.608536] i915 0000:00:02.0: setting latency timer to 64
    [ 101.623781] uhci_hcd 0000:00:1d.0: setting latency timer to 64
    [ 101.623804] usb usb1: root hub lost power or was reset
    [ 101.623853] uhci_hcd 0000:00:1d.1: setting latency timer to 64
    [ 101.623872] usb usb2: root hub
     
    Shawn likes this.
  6. kln_nurv

    kln_nurv Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Thank you all for your own prodding at the issue. I must have missed the alerts over the weekend. I have been trying to get results myself but its a long process of trial and error unfortunately. I am assuming suspend works a bit different with a live image so I have been installing. For this week (and maybe a little longer) I am slightly more interested in tracking down the issue and producing a log which might help others. I will post whatever I discover here.
     
    SHEEPMAN! likes this.
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page