CF-19MK5 GOBI-5000

Discussion in 'Panasonic' started by ke6iyc, Aug 1, 2017.

  1. ke6iyc

    ke6iyc Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Good morning all!

    Just picked up a nice CF-19MK5 for a good price, and am beginning the upgrades.

    Have replace standard keyboard with an emmisive (LOVE it!), have a 1TB SSD in the mail, shopping for more RAM (4GB currently)....

    It has a GOBI 2000 in it, but I want to upgrade to the 5000 (MC7355).

    Panasonic has a driver/firmware package on the website, which I have downloaded, but I would like to know if anyone has got one working under Windoze 7 Pro, 32 bit.

    Thanks in advance!

    Brian
     
  2. safn1949

    safn1949 Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    116
    Messages:
    854
    Likes Received:
    192
    Trophy Points:
    56
    If you are going past 4gb of ram you will want to run 64 bit Windows, get the restore disc from Heartland,it will be the best $35 you have ever spent.
     
    UNCNDL1 likes this.
  3. ke6iyc

    ke6iyc Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    16
    My concern with going 64 bit is the reports that CSA will not run on 64 bit systems.

    I use my Toughbooks on wildland fires, and I need the flexibility to change carriers on the fly. Verizon is good, but not yet 100%....
     
  4. CWB32

    CWB32 Need parts for my flying saucer.

    Reputations:
    174
    Messages:
    1,438
    Likes Received:
    368
    Trophy Points:
    101
    if you are not going to move to the 64 bit flavor of W7 then anything over 4 gigs will not be utilized (actually it is 3.xx gigs) .
    do you have any links to the information you gathered on CSA ?
     
  5. ke6iyc

    ke6iyc Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    16
  6. CWB32

    CWB32 Need parts for my flying saucer.

    Reputations:
    174
    Messages:
    1,438
    Likes Received:
    368
    Trophy Points:
    101
    hmmm ...
    might be best to wait until one of the other guys steps in here .
     
  7. BaRRmaley

    BaRRmaley Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    173
    Messages:
    985
    Likes Received:
    150
    Trophy Points:
    56
    You really don't need CSA to change modem's firmwares.
    MC7355 is Sierra modem, and Sierra utility has it's own switch for firmwares.
    As well as you don't need CSA for your current Gobi 2000. Just unpack CSA and use \CSA\CSAPack\SetFirm2.exe to switch between CDMA and GSM.
    Anyway, you have to install 64-bit OS, or downgrade to MK3 :))))
     
    UNCNDL1 likes this.
  8. ke6iyc

    ke6iyc Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Why do I have to downgrade to a MK 3? I have one already, but I don't understand?

    Will try your other suggestions, though...

    Thanx!
     
  9. safn1949

    safn1949 Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    116
    Messages:
    854
    Likes Received:
    192
    Trophy Points:
    56
    He is pulling your chain on the Mk3.:D
     
  10. ke6iyc

    ke6iyc Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    16
Loading...

Share This Page