CF-19K mk3 Gobi Install Problem

Discussion in 'Panasonic' started by trednie, Jun 2, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. trednie

    trednie Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    I see many threads that talk about installing Gobi modems into the toughbooks, and the steps to take, like dip switch settings, etc. I have followed as many of those as I can find and still no luck.

    My card is recognized as the Qualcomm HD-USB in device manager. WWAN is enabled in BIOS. I've tried the different settings with a battery pull, powerswitch for 30 seconds prior to powering on. When I attempt to install the drivers, the Panasonic CSA states no GOBI device found. I've tried other GOBI drivers, and actually got 1 set to install, but no luck with creating a modem device. I have gotten to the point of having a QDLoader Com Port there, but can't get any further. Maybe some else has had luck with this. I purchased it with it stating it was for the CF-19, and I have seen pictures of it in a Toughbook, with the claim it works. I have attached the pictures of the card to aid in it's identification. It states on the modem it is a J9CUNDP-1.

    I have also attached the pictures of the dip switch settings, and guide. Can anyone help???
     

    Attached Files:

  2. rusty503

    rusty503 Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    244
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    31
    What OS you running?
     
  3. trednie

    trednie Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    XP Pro with SP2. Will want to eventually migrate to Windows 7 but waiting for a critical piece of software to support it.
     
  4. Pinecone

    Pinecone Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    75
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Which country are you in?
     
  5. db04p71

    db04p71 Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    513
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2008
    Messages:
    739
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Two things I can think of. First, the dip switch settings for WWAN1 should be the correct one. That is what a CF-19 Mk2 uses with Gobi. Second, make sure you have the latest version of the CSA, version 2.00.1100.01.0193 is the one I currently use. Version 1 will not work with Windows 7 plus there are added benefits of version 2. At the moment, I can't verify the Gobi card. Maybe I can later tonight or tomorrow.
     
  6. trednie

    trednie Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    I Definitely have the most recent csa package. Dip switches set per wwan1 was tried, shows in device manager as qualcomm hd-usb device but csa says no gobi device found. Running the manual install of the verizon package installs a port called qdloader, but no other device,and doesn't appear to load the modem firmware.

    If it helps I'm in Canada. I also Have a cf19 mk4 with gobi that was factory installed and use the csa to install the at&t connection manager. Once I tell it is ok to use a non at&t sim works very well.
     
  7. tango_tough

    tango_tough Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    133
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Where did you get the gobi card, make sure it is a white list card from panasonic !
     
  8. kb9kst

    kb9kst Notebook Geek

    Reputations:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    UNDP-1 should be WWAN3 for the dip switch selection.

    WWAN1 is EVDO, WWAN2 is HSDP A.

    Jason
     
  9. canuckcam

    canuckcam Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    144
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    498
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    31
    If you got the card from eBay, most likely it's a locked to HP or Lenovo. Most sellers say "unlocked" but that just means it's unlocked to carriers/networks, not BIOSes.
     
  10. db04p71

    db04p71 Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    513
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2008
    Messages:
    739
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    31
    You may be right. I was going to say WWAN3 until I compared the switch setting to a Mk2. On a Mk2 UNDP1 is 1,on, 2,on, 3,off, 4,off which is the same as WWAN1 on a Mk3. Of course, Panasonic could have completely changed things between Mk's. Regardless, one of the settings should work.

    I just compared trednie's Gobi card to mine. The IC and FCC ID are the same however, my card does not look like that. One thing different is that my card says UNDP-1 and Qualcomm on the label with the FCC ID. You may check the number on the back of the card. Mine says T77Z039.02 LF, Rev. 02L3.
     
Similar Threads: CF-19K Gobi
Forum Title Date
Panasonic CF-19KHRAXAF + CF-18FHHZBBE bottom cover screws and touchscreen helps Jun 16, 2014
Panasonic Considering buying a CF-19KDRU66M MK3 Aug 20, 2013
Panasonic Looking for Service Manual for a CF-19R and CF-19KHRAGAM Jan 18, 2013
Panasonic CF-19KHRAXAM Add Ons (GPS,FP,Emissive KB) Mar 24, 2011
Panasonic Fitting HSDPA modem in CF-19K Aug 22, 2010

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page