CF-19 Mk 2 maximum RAM

Discussion in 'Panasonic' started by seb_r, Apr 29, 2018.

  1. Ashley Mizuki

    Ashley Mizuki Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    15
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    6
    The practical maximum RAM for Intel Core 2 Duo chipsets is 8GB, as User32 noted, and as they also noted, 4GB DDR2 SO-DIMM RAM modules are expensive and often rather hard to find. Service manuals and the like often list 4GB as the maximum RAM because either 4GB sticks weren't available when the specs were written or Intel's marketing materials incorrectly claimed that only 4GB is supported.

    I currently have 5GB (1+4GB) of RAM installed on my CF-19FHGAXNS; it was quite a performance boost to go from 2GB to 4GB (since Windows XP is a 32-bit OS and thus it cannot even use the whole 5 gigabytes properly). I've been trying to find an affordable 4GB stick so that I could eventually get rid of the 1GB stick, although that's gonna be somewhat annoying since it requires taking the laptop apart.

    Depending on your financial resources and intended use cases etc. you may indeed want to consider a newer CF-19 which supports DDR3, but if this isn't an option for you, rest assured -- Mk2 CF-19's do support more than 4GB of installed RAM. :)
     
    Shawn likes this.
  2. safn1949

    safn1949 I'm sure I'm on the wrong planet

    Reputations:
    135
    Messages:
    1,066
    Likes Received:
    289
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Problem is it's hit and miss on if it will boot the 4gb stick I found, on the CF-30 with a spindle drive it's easy, 8 gb nano USB stick and readyboost.
    No as easy on the 19 as the flap must be removed. SSD pretty much takes care of the issue.
     
    toughasnails and Shawn like this.
  3. BaRRmaley

    BaRRmaley Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    188
    Messages:
    1,133
    Likes Received:
    262
    Trophy Points:
    101
    There is an SD slot and modern SD cards are very fast.
     
    safn1949 likes this.
  4. safn1949

    safn1949 I'm sure I'm on the wrong planet

    Reputations:
    135
    Messages:
    1,066
    Likes Received:
    289
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Silly me never considered that, I just run an SSD in mine.....that collects dust with the other 3.:D
     
  5. thewanderlustking

    thewanderlustking Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    54
    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    46
    Trophy Points:
    41
    I use my MK1 pretty frequently, but mostly for car diagnosis too. I am just running 3GB. Best thing I did for a real speed increase, was to put Linux Mint on it. At least one of my car diagnostics programs is available for Linux. The other I am not sure about yet.

    I know that the SSD drive made a MASSIVE difference on my MK5. And on this MK1 I am running the Linux off a USB drive plugged into the WWAN port.

    These upgrades have made it fast enough it may get daily use and internet browsing is even speedy.
     
  6. User32

    User32 Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    31
    Messages:
    480
    Likes Received:
    97
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Adding in to this:

    19/30 Mk1: 4GB DDR2 max, 945GM chipset limits maximum usable ram to 3.25~ GB.
    19/30 Mk2/3: 8GB DDR2
    19 Mk4/31 Mk1: 8GB DDR3
    19 Mk5/31 Mk2 and up: 16GB

    And if i'm not mistaken the 31 Mk5 can use 16GB DDR3 SODIMMs.
     
  7. 64M

    64M Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    How significant is the speed improvement in the Mk2 with ssd? Got an old unit but never looked into swapping out the drive
     
  8. toughasnails

    toughasnails Toughbook Moderator Moderator

    Reputations:
    3,882
    Messages:
    6,007
    Likes Received:
    1,408
    Trophy Points:
    331
    One of the best upgrades you can give a MK2 and the prices of SSD's have come way down too.
     
    katalin_2003, custom90gt and 64M like this.
  9. 64M

    64M Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Thanks, that sounds neat. Looks like I'll be looking into replacing the Mk2 drive soon. Any compatibility issues with certain brands?
     
  10. jonlowe

    jonlowe Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    70
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Very significant. Just do it!
     
    User32 and 64M like this.

Share This Page