1. You may have noticed things look a little different around here - we've switched to a new platform (XenForo) and have some new forum styles and features. This how-to guide will help you find your way around. If you find anything that looks strange, post it in this thread.

CF-19, do i have WWAN? found a sim tray.

Discussion in 'Panasonic' started by rbuljo, Mar 20, 2013.

  1. rbuljo

    rbuljo Notebook Enthusiast

    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    hi guys. just bought my third TB.. :)

    it is a CF19CW1AXS. could someone help me decipher that? couldnt make any sense from the numbers from toughwiki.. it is all japanese signs on the bottom.

    while i was taking the bottom apart to replace the 512mb ram module i found a sim tray at the back??. also directly over it is a empty place for something? under the lid with four screws top left corner if you flip it upside down with front towards you.

    it also have an GPS but i do not know if it is OEM or not..
     
  2. toughasnails

    toughasnails Toughbook Moderator Moderator

    Messages:
    4,271
    Likes Received:
    155
    Trophy Points:
    131
    What is the model number in the BIOS...it should have 7 letters or numbers...yours only has 6, need one more
     
  3. ADOR

    ADOR Notebook Deity

    Messages:
    1,625
    Likes Received:
    48
    Trophy Points:
    66
    All CF-19's are WWAN ready, every one I have had has the sim slot.
     
  4. rbuljo

    rbuljo Notebook Enthusiast

    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    ok, thanks. so I need a GOBI card to get it working? antennas etc?

    also, how do I add Bluetooth? I got GPS as said, but dont know its origin. pics:
    2013-03-20 20.58.21.jpg 2013-03-20 20.58.46.jpg
    and the Modelnumber is in fact CF19CW1AXS
    2013-03-21 09.37.18.jpg
     
  5. toughasnails

    toughasnails Toughbook Moderator Moderator

    Messages:
    4,271
    Likes Received:
    155
    Trophy Points:
    131
    OK...never seen one with only 6 letters/numbers...:confused:
     
  6. rbuljo

    rbuljo Notebook Enthusiast

    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    me neither.. what the hell is this?? :D
     
  7. Rob™

    Rob™ Toughbook Aficionado

    Messages:
    4,008
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    116
    I have seen this before... It's a proprietary built for some company... Like a CF-19TSB14... CUSTOMER SPECIFIC AIRFORCE QEB, 100Mw Wireless LAN, Win7, Intel Core i5-540UM 1.20GHz, vPro, 10.4" XGA Touch, 128GB SSD, 4GB(2+2), TPM, Bluetooth, UL 1604 Haz Loc, Dual Pass (Upper:WWAN/Lower:WLAN), Rubber Backlit Keyboard, Smartcard, Custom BIOS, 3 Year Toughbook Preferred Warranty, 4Yrs Protection Plus - CF-SVCLTNF4Y, 4Yr SSD/HDD No Return of Defective Drive - CF-SVCHDD4Y

    These part numbers do NOT show up in the configurator.

    Some times Panasonic will build something special with odd numbers (or even dashes) if the deal is big enough. The TSB14's are for the air force for example.

    Problem is: There really is NO way to find out what the specs/details on it are based on the model number
     
  8. ADOR

    ADOR Notebook Deity

    Messages:
    1,625
    Likes Received:
    48
    Trophy Points:
    66
    By the processor you got a Mk1, but it's hard to say what else you have under the hood. If yours was a military one wireless, wwan should be turned off by default, but since you can access your bios you are ahead and should be fine in that.

    19 Model
    C Mk1 Intel Core Duo U2400 1.06GHz
    Then from there you can't do much with the number.
    How about some shots of the out side and bottom of the unit.
    What COA does it have, touch or digitizer?

    Aren't the Mk1's suppose to have the sony gps and the leadtek are on the Mk2 and up?

    Interesting piece.
     
  9. rbuljo

    rbuljo Notebook Enthusiast

    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    here are some shots of the unit. now I am really curious what this is.. I can use my finger on the screen, so guess it is only a touch, isnt it to early model to be a dual?

    2013-03-21 20.03.11.jpg 2013-03-21 20.11.36.jpg 2013-03-21 20.12.22.jpg 2013-03-21 20.15.57.jpg
     
  10. Shawn

    Shawn Waiting 4 sanity 2 return

    Messages:
    3,891
    Likes Received:
    351
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Well it has Japanese?? text on the base of it with an English keyboard.
     
  11. ADOR

    ADOR Notebook Deity

    Messages:
    1,625
    Likes Received:
    48
    Trophy Points:
    66
    There is no digitizer board behind the screen and stylus holder is the short one so yep, it should be touch, I windows XP coa didn't check the bios versions yet to see if it matched for XP. But if your touch is working in XP you are good. Yep, got gps inside and out. If it's not factory original it is the factory original type. The stickers on the palm rest match a Mk1 also. So it doesn't look like a spare parts put together. With your back label it looks like it was a Japanese sales zone one. The keyboard is the standard american/english qwerty keyboard with the white windows logo for xp, Factory vista keyboards had white circle there with windows logo in black.
     
  12. Shawn

    Shawn Waiting 4 sanity 2 return

    Messages:
    3,891
    Likes Received:
    351
    Trophy Points:
    151
    CF19CW1AXS

    CF-19CW1AXS mk1
    February, 2006
    Japan
    RANK C
    Base model
    CPU U2400 (1.06GHz, ULV)
    TOUCHSCREEN
    80GB 512MB
    WLAN abg
    TPM (1.2)
    DESTINATION Japan
    KEYBOARD LANGUAGE Japanese
    OS CF-19 (XPP, Japanese)
    4984824766082
    06PC054-1
    2006/11/01


    It is listed in my charts as BASE MODEL. I bet somewhere once upon a time it had a full serial number..
     
  13. BaRRmaley

    BaRRmaley Notebook Evangelist

    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    31
    CF-19TSB14 (CF-19WJF7A1M).
    WWAN slot is here. SIM card slot is here.
    There are no dip switches beside WWAN slot.
    After installation WWAN modem is not detected by BIOS or Windows.
    Any ideas? :)
    If it has Dual Pass (Upper:WWAN/Lower:WLAN) - there must be a way to install WWAN :)
    Maybe secret BIOS settings?
    Or I will take it to my engineer :))
     
  14. Gear6

    Gear6 Notebook Evangelist

    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    31
    gobi unlocker ?
     
  15. BaRRmaley

    BaRRmaley Notebook Evangelist

    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    31
    It's not Gobi, I don't want Gobi anymore :))
    One of my working Novatel HSDPA modems from another CF-19.
    I think I have a better idea - I'm going to change WWAN slot, replacing it with another one, with switches. Will do that very soon :)
     
  16. onirakkiss

    onirakkiss Notebook Evangelist

    Messages:
    689
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    31
    the switches are not necessary for this model. Had u checked the voltage on mini pci express connector? If there is nothing, I think wwan is disabled by BIOS....
     
  17. BaRRmaley

    BaRRmaley Notebook Evangelist

    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    31
    It's absent in BIOS.
    Maybe previous owner forgot to connect a cable. There is u-blox GPS installed...
    I have to disassemble and check it :)

    P.S. And thanks for info about switches!
     
  18. BaRRmaley

    BaRRmaley Notebook Evangelist

    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    31
    All cables connected, there is a power in wireless daughterboard, rear USB port works, bluetooth (it's here too) works. I've changed daughterboard, replacing it with one from MK2, but WWAN is still invisible.
    Maybe I have to try Gobi, CDMA or another HSDPA devices. I will :) But it's a software (BIOS) problem, I think.
    My engineer will try to "repair" it tomorrow.
    And there is a very good feature of Win8 - it's possible to use caddy with HDD from MK3 for MK4 etc. No problems with different chipsets. Thanks, Microsoft!
     
  19. Shawn

    Shawn Waiting 4 sanity 2 return

    Messages:
    3,891
    Likes Received:
    351
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Just a thought. Since it was originally a Japanese model, someone has flashed the bios to a different one. Unless you read Japanese:D
    Who knows what bios they used. Or if the modified the bios. I would flash the bios to one the has wwan installed. A known official bios.
     
  20. BaRRmaley

    BaRRmaley Notebook Evangelist

    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Do you know how to do that? :)
     

Share This Page