can't see 2nd harddrive in windows XPS M1730

Discussion in 'Dell XPS and Studio XPS' started by jabbok, Aug 11, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jabbok

    jabbok Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    98
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    976
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    31
    I installed a second harddrive in my XPS M1730 notebook, I see the drive in the BIOS and also when I go to device manager I can see it in there but not in my computer so I can't access it, any suggestions?
     
  2. Arsenaly

    Arsenaly Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    reFormat the 2nd HD
     
  3. Forte

    Forte NBR's Supreme Angel

    Reputations:
    352
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,467
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    Yup, reformat it and you'll be all set, just use all the default settings (4092 allocation unit, etc) and you'll be good to go.
     
  4. jabbok

    jabbok Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    98
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    976
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    31
    If I can't see it in my computer how can I format the drive? I go to the properties of the drive under device manager but it doesn't give me tha option.
     
  5. Forte

    Forte NBR's Supreme Angel

    Reputations:
    352
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,467
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    Oh sorry about that. You have to activate your drive first.

    Open up "Disk Management" in Windows Vista. Its under the Control Panel.

    You will see the second drive of yours. Right click on it and click "Activate" or something along those lines. You might be able to use it right then and there, if not, just reformat it as it will show up after you enable it.
     
  6. jabbok

    jabbok Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    98
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    976
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Thanks it is formatting the drive now.
     
  7. Forte

    Forte NBR's Supreme Angel

    Reputations:
    352
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,467
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    Teriffic! Happy to help. :)
     
  8. jabbok

    jabbok Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    98
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    976
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    31
    thanks Forte your instructions were good the drive is working good
     
  9. Hmtsjmftsch

    Hmtsjmftsch Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    Weren't your harddrives just set up in RAID 0 (so the only HD you could see was about twice the size of a normal one)? In that case it was normal (and slightly faster). I know that in some countries (like the netherlands) Dell delivers the M1730 with RAID 0 set up.
     
  10. jabbok

    jabbok Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    98
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    976
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    31
    I only had one harddrive in mine when I purchased it, I ordered and installed a 2nd harddrive
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page