cant install XP fom bios, laptop crashes to blue screen

Discussion in 'Dell XPS and Studio XPS' started by jamieuk23, Oct 23, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jamieuk23

    jamieuk23 Notebook Geek

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    Ok bought a M1710 of ebay it works great, trying to do a fresh install of xp thou a its running quite slow and getting loads of popups etc.

    Any way put the XP CD and boot rom it via the bios. It begins to load all te XP files then suddenly crashes to the famous blue screen , saying something about a hardware problem, and my PC was shut down to prevent any damage.

    Any ideas on what the problem might be ??
     
  2. vinumsv

    vinumsv MobileFreak™

    Reputations:
    502
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,238
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    hmm try disabling AHCI mode in Bios or have latest AHCI driver in a USB and press F6 during XP Setup
     
  3. jamieuk23

    jamieuk23 Notebook Geek

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    Thanks for help!!! I just dont see a option in my bios for AHCI. any ideas if its called something else and were it is mate?
     
  4. jamieuk23

    jamieuk23 Notebook Geek

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
  5. vinumsv

    vinumsv MobileFreak™

    Reputations:
    502
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,238
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    go into your BIOS, and under the DRIVES>SATA OPERATION> change RAID Autodetect/AHCI to RAID Autodetect/ATA.

    and is that XP or XP with sp2 slipstreamed ?
     
  6. bh5354

    bh5354 Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Hi,

    I'm having the same problem as the guy who started this post.

    I understand we have to change the RAID from SATA>AHCI to SATA>ATA. But when I get into the Setup screen of the M1710, I don't see anything that talks about drives or SATA settings.

    Could someone give us more instructions? Or is there any other way to install Windows XP?
    I read somewhere else about slipstream a Win XP disk with SATA driver, but where would I download this SATA driver? Dell.com doesn't have it.

    Thanks in advance,
    bh5354
     
  7. BatBoy

    BatBoy NBR Community Moderator

    Reputations:
    7,391
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Messages:
    7,968
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    206
    For those of you who are attempting to install XP, you can leave it in AHCI mode and follow these instructions:
    http://www.intel.com/support/chipsets/imsm/sb/CS-021736.htm

    Be sure to download the floppy configuration utility and run it - if needed, do this on another machine and run the utility and copy the AHCI drivers to a USB Flash drive. Then follow the instructions above and @ the prompt (after hitting F6) insert your USB drive and direct the XP installer to use those files.

    Should have no issues.
     
  8. bh5354

    bh5354 Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Thanks Batboy,

    Still need a bit more help. I tried to follow your instruction, as in copying the AHCI drivers to my USB drive, and tried to run F6.
    After pressing F6, it ask for a diskette in A:, which I don't have. I don't have an external Floppy drive, or 3.5" disks, and I'm certainly not going out to buy one.

    So anyway, I don't know how to force it to look into the USB key I inserted.
    Could you clarify what you mean by 'do this on another machine and run the utility and copy the AHCI drivers to a USB Flash drive. Then follow the instructions above and @ the prompt (after hitting F6) insert your USB drive and direct the XP installer to use those files.'?
    What utility am I suppose to run?

    Thanks again,
    bh5354
     
  9. sleey0

    sleey0 R.I.P. AW Side Topics

    Reputations:
    1,870
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Messages:
    7,976
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    205
    The easiest way is to enable IDE mode instead of AHCI.

    Otherwise you will have to slipstream the AHCI drivers into the copy of XP.

    I don't think the xp pre-boot environment will recognize a USB floppy.
     
  10. bh5354

    bh5354 Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Hi,

    I really do appreciate everyone's input. But I am no closer to installing the XP to my Dell XPS M1710. The bios does not allow any changes to the hard drive. So suggestions about IDE, or changing AHCI to ATA, I can't do them.

    Unless someone knows exactly where these settings are in the M1710. I certainly can't find them in the Setup Screen (hold F2 while machine boot up). Why does Dell make it so f**kin' hard for?

    Back to the hard option, how do I slipstream the XP disk with the AHCI setting? I don't even know where to download the AHCI driver. I have heard of nlite to create the slipstream disk....

    Thank,
    bh5354
     
Similar Threads: cant install
Forum Title Date
Dell XPS and Studio XPS Dell XPS L1702X Nvidia driver issue, cant install? Jan 10, 2012
Dell XPS and Studio XPS Windows 7 64 Bit ... Overheating? Cant install it Aug 20, 2009
Dell XPS and Studio XPS i cant get i8kfangui to install on 64bit :( May 29, 2009
Dell XPS and Studio XPS M1330 Cant install Windows, blue screen Feb 3, 2009
Dell XPS and Studio XPS m1330 cant install Bluetooth driver.... HELP Feb 9, 2008

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page