Can't display full screen on TV with HDMI

Discussion in 'Gateway and eMachines' started by Maverickmantp, Feb 11, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Maverickmantp

    Maverickmantp Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    I'm using the HDMI interface with my 32-inch Samsung HD TV, but the outside border of the screen won't display. I can see the middle of the screen well, but the Gadgets and some of the icons as well as the bottom task bar are cut out. I tried to fix it with the Nvidia control panel, but I've been unsuccessful. Is this normal? I noticed that my TV can't display a 16:10 screen ratio, but it will do 16:9. Maybe that's the problem?
     
  2. mrgstiffler

    mrgstiffler Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    What resolution are you trying to output?
     
  3. Maverickmantp

    Maverickmantp Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    I'm trying 1440X900. If I change resolutions, I have the same problem.
     
  4. mrgstiffler

    mrgstiffler Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    I'm guessing that the native resolution of your TV is 1366x768. If that's the case, then 1440x900 will definitely not work correctly. Try going into the Nvidia control panel and changing the output to 720P
     
  5. hydra

    hydra Breaks Laptops

    Reputations:
    285
    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    2,834
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    56
    How about 1280X720?

    But, in thinking back, my Sony 720P set will scale everything up to 1080i. I was using my RGB input. My DVD is on the HDMI input which is 480i max. I'm thinking you do not have your big screen set to scale?
     
  6. Lithus

    Lithus NBR Janitor

    Reputations:
    5,504
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Messages:
    9,789
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    205
    Make sure you have updated your video drivers.
     
  7. precV

    precV Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    I had that same problem with my Sony 50" rear-projection TV. What I eventually found is that there is an adjustment within Nvidia Control Center (I'm using stock drivers on my P-6831FX) that allows you to adjust the edges of the display. There are two sliders--one for horizontal width, the other for vertical height.

    After I adjusted the sliders, the desktop fit perfectly. BTW, I used 1280 x 720 as my that is my Sony's native res.

    I can't remember the exact name of that setting, but it was under the Nvidia TV controls. I'll take a look later when I have the laptop connected to the TV.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page