can't adjust brightness for screen

Discussion in 'Alienware' started by jabbok, Dec 23, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jabbok

    jabbok Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    98
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    976
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    31
    I have an Alienware 17x notebook, when I try to adjust the brightness for my screen using the Fn + F4 or F5 to dim or brighten the screen it doesn't work, I thought that the function keys weren't working so I checked but the rest of them respond. I have all the updated drivers, updated the BIOS to current, checked the power settings and I still can't adjust the brightness, any suggestions?
     
  2. TurbodTalon

    TurbodTalon Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    1,380
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    3,073
    Likes Received:
    126
    Trophy Points:
    131
    Right click on the battery icon in your task bar. Then go to adjust screen brightness. What do you see there?
     
  3. Speedy Gonzalez

    Speedy Gonzalez Xtreme Notebook Speeder!

    Reputations:
    5,430
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,123
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    106
    i had the same problem with my last system with nvidia 280's, i solve that installing different display drivers :)
     
  4. jabbok

    jabbok Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    98
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    976
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    31
    I installed the video drivers several times but I will do that again, I have also reinstalled the o/s several times for other issues. I have dual nvidia 260's I followed batboy's guide for the M17x drivers.
     
  5. Maxamilus

    Maxamilus Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    22
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    As far as I know, it's a matter of the specific drivers you're using. Try different ones.
     
  6. jivemofo

    jivemofo Notebook Geek

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    you need to have the 9400 (integrated) gpu active to adjust the brightness. either by using only discreet, hybrid sli, or putting it in stealth mode. some drivers will only let you control brightness in only discreet or stealth mode and not in hybrid sli.

    for some reason the brightness adjustment won't work with sli only option.
     
  7. jabbok

    jabbok Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    98
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    976
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    31
    I will check this when I get home, I was pretty sure that I had it active. Thanks for the help.
     
  8. Aikimox

    Aikimox Weihenstephaner!

    Reputations:
    5,946
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Messages:
    10,088
    Likes Received:
    36
    Trophy Points:
    466
    You need both the good driver and the 9400 enabled to be able to adjust it.
     
  9. BatBoy

    BatBoy NBR Community Moderator

    Reputations:
    7,391
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Messages:
    7,968
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    206
    HybridSLI/Integrated Graphics do not need to be active in order to adjust screen brightness. I have both options disabled in the BIOS and am running the 186.82 driver. I am able to adjust screen brightness via the FN+F4/F5 keys without issue, both on AC as well as Battery power.

    Not sure if what you are seeing is a driver problem or a config problem as I have never run into an issue with this, regardless of display driver version under Vista. It could be a Win7 only issue.

    Be sure that the current version of OSD is installed.

    Alienware Onscreen Display - v2.21 A03, Last Updated: 09/18/2009
     

    Attached Files:

  10. jabbok

    jabbok Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    98
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    976
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    31
    hey thanks for all the replies and help but apparently my mainboard is defective and has to be replaced according to alienware tech support, I tried to get them to exchange it as I am within the 30 days of receiving it but after spending several hours on the phone getting tranferred from dell to alienware and no one willing to do anything except transfer me I will have them replace the mainboard.
     

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page