1. You may have noticed things look a little different around here - we've switched to a new platform (XenForo) and have some new forum styles and features. This how-to guide will help you find your way around. If you find anything that looks strange, post it in this thread.

Can the G75 do 32gb ram

Discussion in 'ASUS Gaming Notebook Forum' started by Boo Boo, Jun 21, 2012.

  1. Boo Boo

    Boo Boo Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    107
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Messages:
    810
    Asus says 16gb max, but others have said 32Gb was wondering if anyone has tried it?
     
  2. scottdrmyers

    scottdrmyers Notebook Geek

    Reputations:
    95
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2012
    Messages:
    90
    The G74 can do it I believe, found this signature in another forum:

    G74SX-CST1-CBIL, i7 2630QM 2GHz
    32GB DDR3 RAM @1333MHz
    GTX560M 3GB DDR5 (192 bit)
    17.3" LED 1920x1080
    Sentelic TP, BIOS 203
    Debian Linux Wheezy (Testing) Kernel 3.2, NVIDIA 295.40


    I'm sure it would work, but i'll wait to find some more concrete info.
     
  3. stege

    stege Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    11
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    157
    The G55 can take 4x 8GB, have a friend with this config. So surely G75 can do it too.
     
  4. scottdrmyers

    scottdrmyers Notebook Geek

    Reputations:
    95
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2012
    Messages:
    90
    The question is why do you need 32GB of ram unless you're running VMs or doing a crap ton of video editing.

    I didn't notice the difference between 8GB and 16GB but it was super cheap so I sprung for it anyway haha.


    And stege, nice net connection. I'm only 40 down and 6 up :( No fibre op in my area. Boourns.
     
  5. Yiddo

    Yiddo Believe, Achieve, Receive

    Reputations:
    1,086
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    4,659
    The 3610QM can handle 32GB of RAM so no reason why it cannot.

    It is most likely just not an option given by Asus because if they give you 4 sticks of 4GB that means you have to go out and buy 4 new sticks, marketing as usual. Faster RAM is more important than more RAM if you do not intend to use it for anything else but general use and gaming. More than 16GB is really for editing or design work or a stupid amount of operating systems.

    Personally 8GB of 1600 is more than enough for me and I am a process hog.
     
  6. bryansj

    bryansj Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    21
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    The 16GB limitation was only because of the Home Premium version of Win 7 that shipped with the laptop. You would need to upgrade to Win 7 Pro or Ultimate to get past 16GB (196 GB at that point).

    Memory Limits for Windows Releases
     
  7. red5host

    red5host Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    yes it sure does. 4x 8gb ram i used vengeance. One ram slot is on back of mobo, not that hard to get apart and installed. other three slots easy to get at.
    theres a youtube video showing how to get apart and get to back ram slot

    so my g73j and g75 both running same vengeance 32gb ram =4 slots
    im running win7 pro on both
     
  8. c_man

    c_man Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    138
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2012
    Messages:
    441
    There are versions of G75 with 32 on the market.
     
  9. GordonSummers

    GordonSummers Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    was just about to type ^. those are the rules of ram.
     
Similar Threads: 32gb
Forum Title Date
ASUS Gaming Notebook Forum Asus G75VW with 32gb of ram Jan 4, 2013
ASUS Gaming Notebook Forum can the G73JH be upgraded to 32gb ram May 28, 2012
ASUS Gaming Notebook Forum Asus G73sw I7 2960xm Cpu , 32gb Ram Upgrade Info Jan 25, 2012

Share This Page