1. You may have noticed things look a little different around here - we've switched to a new platform (XenForo) and have some new forum styles and features. This how-to guide will help you find your way around. If you find anything that looks strange, post it in this thread.

Black Screen with Colored Blocks during boot

Discussion in 'Dell' started by MannyD, Mar 11, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MannyD

    MannyD Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    3
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    52
    Well the first time this happened there was a black screen with a line of colored blocks with what looked like smiley faces in them. Today it happened again except there was the colored boxes with some type of weird symbol in them and white lines all over the screen. Windows continued to boot up normally and I haven't had any problems. I'm worried it might be a hardware problem. Help?

    PS: This happens after post, right before the login screen

    [​IMG]
     
  2. johnybandit

    johnybandit Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    May 6, 2007
    Messages:
    18
    Hi MannyD.I had similar problem,whitch was happening occasionally on my D630.It was motherboard issue.When I switch it on,I had lines and letters or"smileys"on my screen and sometimes system freezed up.I fixed it by changing motherboard.I have dedicated video card NV135m ,so it was videoacrd,I think.
     
  3. MannyD

    MannyD Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    3
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    52
    Do you have a picture so I can confirm that its the same thing? My computer has also been stuttering when on balanced or power saver mode if that helps at all.
     
  4. VinylPusher

    VinylPusher Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    6
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    141
    It shouldn't be anything to worry abuot if your computer is operating normally in Windows.

    This happens on my M1730 sometimes when loading Linux. All that is happening is the video card is temporarily switching back to 'DOS' (i.e., plain old text) mode but displaying a random bit of memory (interpreted as smileys!).

    This old text mode is an age-old legacy feature which every PC video card has supported since the days before Pentiums, having more than 16MB RAM in a PC and even full-colour displays.

    It could be a driver issue, but it's still no cause for alarm.

    Check your system with memtest86 (or Windows own memory testing feature) and possibly SiSoft Sandra if you really want peace of mind.
     
  5. MannyD

    MannyD Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    3
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    52
    Ok thanks for the reply. I now have pictures:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  6. steve511

    steve511 Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    27
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    Messages:
    204
    thats just weird. That doesnt look like dos. :p......if you want to see what dos is just run cmd. start-run-cmd-enter.......dos is all text. (as far as i know anyway) and this is not dos
     
  7. MannyD

    MannyD Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    3
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    52
    Bump because I'm still having the same problem
     
  8. daniel_g

    daniel_g Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    299
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    282
    What's your OS, Vista?
    Click Start and on the search bar type 'msconfig' without the quotes.

    Look under 'boot', 'startup', and 'services' for anything that looks suspicious(like having smileys or some weird code). Just don't go crazy and disable everything, use google if you see suspicious programs and want to disable/delete them..

    Then run a good anti spyware tool, looks like someone gained access to your computer.
     
  9. MannyD

    MannyD Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    3
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    52
    Nothing suspicious, all legit startup processes. I have run anti spyware (Adaware and spybot).
     
  10. Jamaicanyouth

    Jamaicanyouth Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    58
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    400
    I have the same problem now on my M1530 I will call Dell in the morning.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page