BLACK LIST. Adjustable voltage control/turbo ratio limits are locked out due latest Win Update/Bios

Discussion in 'Hardware Components and Aftermarket Upgrades' started by Papusan, Dec 24, 2019.

  1. Papusan

    Papusan JOKEBOOKs Sucks! Dont waste your $$$ on FILTHY

    Reputations:
    33,454
    Messages:
    27,165
    Likes Received:
    50,544
    Trophy Points:
    931
    raz8020 and Ashtrix like this.
  2. jc_denton

    jc_denton BGA? What a shame.

    Reputations:
    9,735
    Messages:
    2,785
    Likes Received:
    5,191
    Trophy Points:
    531
    Intel IME also got updated from what I can tell, I had a stripped down 1923.12.0.1278 installed. But now device manager shows 1914.12.0.1256 installed.
    -185mV wouldn't boot into windows, so I ended up doing a fn+d cmos reset. And at least it boots up into windows with my old settings including the -185mv undervolt. I havent tested stability but this update is not listed in either update history or reliability monitor.

    Which is kinda nasty as it's using Intel Platform Update (IPU) that directly updates IME firmware.
     
    Last edited: Dec 27, 2019
    Ashtrix and hmscott like this.
  3. Papusan

    Papusan JOKEBOOKs Sucks! Dont waste your $$$ on FILTHY

    Reputations:
    33,454
    Messages:
    27,165
    Likes Received:
    50,544
    Trophy Points:
    931
    It's the same, and don't only look at the installer package version http://forum.notebookreview.com/threads/intel-drivers-updates.782418/page-40#post-10924911
     
  4. jc_denton

    jc_denton BGA? What a shame.

    Reputations:
    9,735
    Messages:
    2,785
    Likes Received:
    5,191
    Trophy Points:
    531
    Ashtrix, hmscott and Papusan like this.
  5. Papusan

    Papusan JOKEBOOKs Sucks! Dont waste your $$$ on FILTHY

    Reputations:
    33,454
    Messages:
    27,165
    Likes Received:
    50,544
    Trophy Points:
    931
    Could be ram if you have it oc'd. It can be any thing. Don't forget take a look into reliability monitor once in a while. And be sure you know what Intel microcode version you run:vbthumbsup: Don't forget close the door:vbbiggrin: No need for e key!
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Dec 27, 2019
  6. jc_denton

    jc_denton BGA? What a shame.

    Reputations:
    9,735
    Messages:
    2,785
    Likes Received:
    5,191
    Trophy Points:
    531
    Shouldn't be the ram, I did a complete cmos reset with removed battery when reverting to my cl14 3333 settings. This whole spectacle only began after I connected the system to the internet..


    A little update, instead of not booting into windows at -185mV it's giving a random Clock_watchdog_timeout error. AFAIK its voltage related?
     
    hmscott likes this.
  7. Papusan

    Papusan JOKEBOOKs Sucks! Dont waste your $$$ on FILTHY

    Reputations:
    33,454
    Messages:
    27,165
    Likes Received:
    50,544
    Trophy Points:
    931
    Yeah. Try -5mv less.
     
    hmscott and jc_denton like this.
  8. senso

    senso Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    540
    Messages:
    1,613
    Likes Received:
    749
    Trophy Points:
    131
    And why did Intel go nuclear with this?

    If the exploit needs to tweak voltage at a fine and fast pace, just limit the slew-rate at something only 10mV change per 30 secs, with a set value at boot, so slower pace to find ideal undervolt, still works at boot, no more exploit..
     
  9. Mr. Fox

    Mr. Fox BGA Filth-Hating Elitist

    Reputations:
    34,830
    Messages:
    37,289
    Likes Received:
    62,851
    Trophy Points:
    931
    Security. Some people use SGX. Some that use it actually know that it exists and do it on purpose.

    Those that do not use it stand a 1:100,000,000 chance of someone using "Plundervolt" vulnerability to exploit their PC. Instead of requiring all BIOS updates include a switch to enable SGX and toggle voltage control for those that want it, the bright idea is to play Nazi with the majority and screw things up for everyone whether they care or not. Apparently, God went on vacation and left them in charge.

    In other words:
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Dec 27, 2019
    raz8020, Ashtrix, jc_denton and 2 others like this.
  10. Falkentyne

    Falkentyne Notebook Prophet

    Reputations:
    8,042
    Messages:
    5,808
    Likes Received:
    8,259
    Trophy Points:
    681
    Ok I'm confused here.
    If you disable SGX in your BIOS, you won't have voltage control in windows (regardless of what you're using?).
    Or is it just the firmware update that makes it stop working?
     
    hmscott likes this.
Loading...

Share This Page