Bios rollback….How?

Discussion in 'HP & Compaq' started by faztel, Feb 28, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. faztel

    faztel Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Hi ,
    I recently upgraded my BIOS to the latest version F.3D from F.36M1.

    I used the flashing tool that came with the new BIOS when downloaded from the HP/Compaq site.

    I noticed that when the new BIOS was flashed a new file was made called “bios.bak”
    I assume that this is a copy of the old BIOS that was on the machine before the new was flashed…..can I use this file to get back to my old BIOS?

    I can’t find any settings in the flash tool that allows me to select the BIOS to flash so how would I do it?

    Thanks for any help.
     
  2. xoul

    xoul Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    25
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    It might be or not possible, depends on the computer, what kind of computer are we talking about?

    ***Just remember that messing with your bios can render your system useless, so try to collect as much information as you can or contact tech support from the system manufacturer.

    Sometimes there might be an option to force a bios downgrade, or you can just try to change the .bak extension to be able to use it with the flash tool.
     
  3. suland

    suland Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    8
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    490
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Can you explain why you want it back? Is something wrong with new BIOS?
     
  4. faztel

    faztel Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    The laptop is a Compaq V6133EU….sorry I should have mentioned that :eek:

    The new BIOS makes the fan run all the time…I suppose this is a good thing as people are reporting that their machines are running quite a bit cooler....I don't think mine is that much different though.

    I would just like to know how to go back to the old BIOS by using the bak file that was created….there must be a way to do this or what is the point in saving the bak file.

    Regards.
     
  5. jmhal

    jmhal Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    92
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    I believe that if you download the bios you want to downgrade to from the HP website and run that installer it will let you install it like normal, I think it just asks if you want to downgrade or not. I'm not 100% sure but i think that's how I did it.
     
  6. faztel

    faztel Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    The old BIOS I replaced, F.36M1 is not available from the site...the only one that is available is the new one that I now have on the machine.

    The bak file must be a backup of the F.36M1 BIOS I replaced so I must be able to get this back onto the machine some how.

    Is it just a case of renaming the bak file to a WPH file then flashing it ?
     
  7. xoul

    xoul Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    25
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    Ok, when you run the SP38061.EXE file it shows:

    "PURPOSE: Critical
    SoftPaq NUMBER: sp38061
    SUPERSEDES: sp37157
    EFFECTIVE DATE: November 30, 2007
    CATEGORY: BIOS
    SSM SUPPORTED: YES"

    so the previous version should be in the sp37157.exe file, i couldn't find the file in the ftp but a quick search on the internet and i found:

    http://files.filefront.com/sp37157exe/;9114389;/fileinfo.html

    ....or you can just rename the .bak file extension to .WPH and try if the sp37157.exe is not the correct one.

    It seems the new bios has some critical fixes maybe that's why they removed the old one:
    "PURPOSE: Critical
    Fixes
    # Updates the fan control algorithm of the system to reduce the likelihood of future system issues.
    # Fixes issue where the touchpad scroll function does not work on some notebooks.
    # Fixes issue where the battery fails. "


     
  8. faztel

    faztel Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Hi,
    Thanks for that...but...

    How will I know if the sp37157.exe is the right one...if it's the wrong one my machine is dead...isn't it? :(

    I renamed the bak file to .WPH & browsed to it with WinPhlash....I then tried opening it with the Advanced Settings tab but it throws up an error saying...

    "Corrupted interface descriptors in the new BIOS file"
    "Part Table Signature not found in the Interface
    Error code:-161"
     
  9. xoul

    xoul Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    25
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    You are right, i didn't check but that sp37157.exe file doesn't shows as a F.36M1 bios. As i wrote before, the previous bios was removed because the new one contains some critical updates, so your only chance is to look for previous bios file with someone with the same system in online forums.

    Question: are you sure the previous bios was F.36M1?
     
  10. faztel

    faztel Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Yeah I'm sure the previous bios was F.36M1 as before flashing the new (F.3D) I checked in system information.

    However...this laptop has had a new motherboard because of a power problem so maybe the version that was on was a one off version. :confused:

    The sp37157 doesn't show as F.36M1 BIOS it shows as F.3B....but scrolling down it lists the Compaq Presario V6000 ....I assume this means the whole V6000 series?

    Reading the threads on this forum a lot of people have the new BIOS (F.3D) that makes the fan run all the time....but they have different laptops to me....will there be different versions of the F.3D BIOS for each model of machine or will they all be the same?
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page