BIOS CF-30 Mk3

Discussion in 'Panasonic' started by PaW2000, Mar 25, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. PaW2000

    PaW2000 Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi, I just did a test with my 2 cf-30 mk3, one was with v3.00L20 and other with v3.01L23, both working perfect, no passwords, but i wanted to trý to flash v3.01L23 on the older one. But now i just have a black screen. i used Universal BIOS Backup ToolKit to backup rom and then flash with afuwin, now i guess my only way to restore it is replace the bios chip. anyone can tell me more about that, where do i find a chip and where is it located on the motherboard?
     
  2. PaW2000

    PaW2000 Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi, i wonder if anyone still have the file cf30k_mk3_bios_r-2009-0027-binary.zip and would be kind to send it to me?

    Best regards // Peter
     
  3. Shawn

    Shawn Crackpot Search Ninja and Options Whore

    Reputations:
    1,529
    Messages:
    8,120
    Likes Received:
    1,915
    Trophy Points:
    331

    Are those the full BIOS version numbers? Mxx at the end of either one? (xx being numbers)

    BIOS chip

    https://www.ebay.com/itm/BIOS-CHIP-...121218?hash=item5d53eedb82:g:CjoAAOSwBP9UXgE6
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 25, 2018
    PaW2000 likes this.
  4. PaW2000

    PaW2000 Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi, yes this i found also and asked him about it. but does not seems like its the right bios.

    This is what he wrote me..

    t seems that this is the typical situation that the bios is corrupt during the flash. A new bios chip would be an approach to bring the board back to life. The bios file I have for CF-30 MK3 is V310L17.303. Feel free to BUY IT NOW.

    Yes full bios names. no branded ones.. orginal ia guess, have a cf19 mk2 with som M22 branded firmware..
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 25, 2018
  5. Shawn

    Shawn Crackpot Search Ninja and Options Whore

    Reputations:
    1,529
    Messages:
    8,120
    Likes Received:
    1,915
    Trophy Points:
    331
    What is not right about it?
     
  6. PaW2000

    PaW2000 Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    6
    V310L17.303 looks like its for the cf-31 since it starts with v31xxxxx

    Is there any one that can show me a photo of a cf-30 mk3 motherboard and the location of the bios chip and the type of chip that is used?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 25, 2018
  7. toughasnails

    toughasnails Toughbook Moderator Moderator

    Reputations:
    7,097
    Messages:
    6,204
    Likes Received:
    2,243
    Trophy Points:
    331
    Try going to google and search for " mk3 bios chip cf-30 " for me it shows what you are looking for. Just to let you know it's not an easy job replacing it unless you are very good at soldering and have a very steady hand. I think Shawn will agree with me on this. :D
     
    Shawn likes this.
  8. Shawn

    Shawn Crackpot Search Ninja and Options Whore

    Reputations:
    1,529
    Messages:
    8,120
    Likes Received:
    1,915
    Trophy Points:
    331
    The V310L17 means it is version 3.10 L17 . Nothing to do with a CF31

    It is the correct chip and flash

    I destroyed 2-3 motherboards learning how to replace BIOS chips. :(:rolleyes:
    Good equipment, steady hand, and proper method are a must.:cool:
    The small traces on the motherboard going to the BIOS chip are very fragile.:mad:
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 25, 2018
    UNCNDL1, PaW2000 and toughasnails like this.
  9. PaW2000

    PaW2000 Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi, i only found one on ebay and i wrote to him but the version he is selling seems to be not correct, i might be wrong but since the chip he is selling have version v310L17.303 and for me that sounds like its a bios for the cf-31 since it starts with v31xxxxx i have not seen and version for the cf-30 mk3 that start with that. soldering is not a problem for me, just need to know where the chip is located on the motherboard, just ordered a kit to flash it my self, will try copy from my cf-30 mk3 that is working, all this work just beacuse i had to try update it for fun... silly me.. :)

    I will order it then and try :)

    Can you tell me where the chip i located on the cf-30 mk3?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 25, 2018
  10. Shawn

    Shawn Crackpot Search Ninja and Options Whore

    Reputations:
    1,529
    Messages:
    8,120
    Likes Received:
    1,915
    Trophy Points:
    331
    CF30 mb
    cf 30 mbA.jpg
     
    PaW2000 likes this.
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page