1. You may have noticed things look a little different around here - we've switched to a new platform (XenForo) and have some new forum styles and features. This how-to guide will help you find your way around. If you find anything that looks strange, post it in this thread.

Best way to make Vista Sidebar 100% transparent?

Discussion in 'Windows OS and Software' started by justinluck, Apr 5, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. justinluck

    justinluck Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    4
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Hey guys, I want to get rid of the shadow gradient on the Vista Sidebar. Ideally, I would like to completely transparent. What is the best way to go about this? Do I need to install a skin program? And if so, which is the best one? Thanks!
     
  2. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Mime with Tourette's

    Reputations:
    1,163
    Messages:
    3,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    105
    100% transparent would be invisible, right?
     
  3. McGrady

    McGrady Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    1,400
    Messages:
    3,377
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    105
    I think he means that he doesn't want the outlines of the 'box' on sidebar. He just wants his widgets there.
     
  4. justinluck

    justinluck Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    4
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Oops, sorry about the confusion. I am talking about the Sidebar background. By default, it is transparent on the left and fades to black to right. I would like it transparent, so I see the gadgets in the Sidebar, but without the shadow effect in the background.
     
  5. Gintoki

    Gintoki Notebook Prophet

    Reputations:
    2,886
    Messages:
    6,566
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    205
    As far as i know, you can't.
     
  6. Diablo

    Diablo Metalhead

    Reputations:
    772
    Messages:
    1,441
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    56
    um...drag the gadgets off of the sidebar onto the desktop and close the sidebar, but not the gadgets.
     
  7. Pai

    Pai Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    464
    Messages:
    584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Jackpot! Or you can right click on the sidebar and click "close sidebar", just be sure you don't mistakenly click "Exit" caz that exits the sidebar completely.
     
  8. justinluck

    justinluck Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    4
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Thanks guys! That works.
     
  9. McGrady

    McGrady Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    1,400
    Messages:
    3,377
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    105
    oh yeah, i didnt think of that. i forgot about it actually. i remember i did that for app launcher, when i used vista sidebar, but now i dont use that. its sux. ;p
     
  10. Evan42

    Evan42 Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    26
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    what do you use in lieu?

    i use objectdoc to launch some programs, but what do you suggest for cpu and ram meter, stuff like that that I currently have on sidebar?

    I tried rainmeter, but i think I'm too dumb to use it. It's less user-friendly for non computer programmers than sidebar.
     
  11. roytse

    roytse Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    88
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    hav u tried yahoo widgets?
     
  12. McGrady

    McGrady Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    1,400
    Messages:
    3,377
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    105
    i use rocketdock and rainmeter. haha. rainmeter is easy to use...just get used to it. much better looking that sidebar. if u go look in the show ur desktop thread, u will see.
     
  13. Nocturnal310

    Nocturnal310 Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    791
    Messages:
    2,709
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    They are right... drag the Widgets... EDIT: oops i mean Gadgets out of the sidebar & right click on Sidebar & 'close sidebar'

    You can have them floating on your Desktop without the black shade.

    and btw
    Rainmeter is what i am using but i dont know how to EDIT skins :(

    but i prefer it over Sidebar...

    It looks so natural on the Desktop & its light .

    I can also keep it running while playing Online Games like CSS, CZ
     
Similar Threads: Best Vista
Forum Title Date
Windows OS and Software Vista or 7 for best gaming performance? Sep 21, 2014
Windows OS and Software What's the best way to transfer files when upgrading from Vista to 7 Oct 19, 2009
Windows OS and Software Best bloatware remover for Windows Vista. Jul 6, 2009
Windows OS and Software What's the best way to try out Win 7 on a Vista machine? May 5, 2009
Windows OS and Software What is the best wallpaper changer/organizer for Vista? Mar 23, 2009

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page