1. You may have noticed things look a little different around here - we've switched to a new platform (XenForo) and have some new forum styles and features. This how-to guide will help you find your way around. If you find anything that looks strange, post it in this thread.

Best way to make Vista Sidebar 100% transparent?

Discussion in 'Windows OS and Software' started by justinluck, Apr 5, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. justinluck

    justinluck Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    4
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2007
    Messages:
    189
    Hey guys, I want to get rid of the shadow gradient on the Vista Sidebar. Ideally, I would like to completely transparent. What is the best way to go about this? Do I need to install a skin program? And if so, which is the best one? Thanks!
     
  2. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Mime with Tourette's

    Reputations:
    1,163
    Joined:
    May 17, 2007
    Messages:
    3,017
    100% transparent would be invisible, right?
     
  3. McGrady

    McGrady Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    1,400
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Messages:
    3,377
    I think he means that he doesn't want the outlines of the 'box' on sidebar. He just wants his widgets there.
     
  4. justinluck

    justinluck Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    4
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2007
    Messages:
    189
    Oops, sorry about the confusion. I am talking about the Sidebar background. By default, it is transparent on the left and fades to black to right. I would like it transparent, so I see the gadgets in the Sidebar, but without the shadow effect in the background.
     
  5. Gintoki

    Gintoki Notebook Prophet

    Reputations:
    2,886
    Joined:
    May 26, 2007
    Messages:
    6,566
    As far as i know, you can't.
     
  6. Diablo

    Diablo Metalhead

    Reputations:
    772
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,471
    um...drag the gadgets off of the sidebar onto the desktop and close the sidebar, but not the gadgets.
     
  7. Pai

    Pai Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    464
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    657
    Jackpot! Or you can right click on the sidebar and click "close sidebar", just be sure you don't mistakenly click "Exit" caz that exits the sidebar completely.
     
  8. justinluck

    justinluck Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    4
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2007
    Messages:
    189
    Thanks guys! That works.
     
  9. McGrady

    McGrady Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    1,400
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Messages:
    3,377
    oh yeah, i didnt think of that. i forgot about it actually. i remember i did that for app launcher, when i used vista sidebar, but now i dont use that. its sux. ;p
     
  10. Evan42

    Evan42 Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    26
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Messages:
    72
    what do you use in lieu?

    i use objectdoc to launch some programs, but what do you suggest for cpu and ram meter, stuff like that that I currently have on sidebar?

    I tried rainmeter, but i think I'm too dumb to use it. It's less user-friendly for non computer programmers than sidebar.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page