Best Laptop for Software Development???

Discussion in 'What Notebook Should I Buy?' started by criveraf, May 11, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. criveraf

criveraf Newbie

Reputations:
    Hi there,

I am looking for a good line of laptop computers (or a good model) in the market that fits the needs for software development.

I have looked many makes and models, and I have seen many great machines, but none of them make reference of being the choice for developers.

And I am talking about software development in .Net, VB, VC++, ASP, XML, SQLServer, Oracle, Flash, etc.

Does anyone know or may recommend the best brand of laptops for software development (model or line of product) with options?

Thanks,

Criveraf

(This topic may benefit many buyers looking for the same.)

2. Big Calhoun

Big Calhoun Notebook Evangelist

Reputations:
    I'm not a programmer, but play one in my office. j/k Couldn't resist. Seriouslly, I'm not a programmer but work with quite a few on a daily basis. I see a variety of machines used; older company ThinkPads, newer P3 and P4 machines, and everything in between. From being nosey, it doesn't seem like there is a specific manufacturer that caters to developers. Most of my counterparts look for high-end machines that exceed the current curve. They also look for machines with serial ports so they can interface with some development kits that they use. From the conversations I've been a party to, there really isn't one manufacturer or model that caters to this function.

3. Big Calhoun

Big Calhoun Notebook Evangelist

Reputations: