Best Laptop for 3D Modelling & CAD & Adobe Suite

Discussion in 'What Notebook Should I Buy?' started by Benjamin Kang, Apr 16, 2019 at 11:11 AM.

1. Benjamin Kang

Benjamin Kang Newbie

Reputations:
    Hello I am an architecture student and need a new laptop.
    The software I frequently use are the following:
    - AutoCAD
    - Rhino 3D & Vray
    - 3Ds Max
    - Revit
    - Adobe Creative Suite

1) What is your budget? 1500$ - 2500$

2) What size notebook would you prefer?
    15" - 16" screen (I am a student and cannot carry 17" laptop.

3) Which country will you buying this notebook?
    USA

4) Are there any brands that you prefer or any you really don't like?
    a. Like: I was looking at msi ws 65 but I really dont know. Open to any suggestions.
    5) Would you consider laptops that are refurbished/redistributed?
    No

6) What are the primary tasks will you be performing with this notebook?
    - AutoCAD
    - Rhino 3D & Vray
    - 3Ds Max
    - Revit
    - Adobe Creative Suite

7) Will you be taking the notebook with you to different places, leaving it on your desk or both?
    15 inch. Weight doesnt matter.

8) Will you be playing games on your notebook? (If so, please state which games or types of games?)
    No

9) How many hours of battery life do you need?
    Doesn't matter

11) What OS do you prefer? Windows, Mac OS, Linux, Chrome OS, etc.
    Windows
    Screen Specifics

12) What screen resolution(s) would you prefer? (See further below for explanations.)
    Full HD (1920x1080) or higher

Build Quality and Design

14) Are the notebook's looks and stylishness important to you?
    No but I would prefer decent build quality. One thing msi concerns me is people saying their build quality is relatively cheap. I do not know if this is true though.

Notebook Components

15) How much hard drive space do you need?
    I do not need much space because I typically backup on cloud storage and portable hard drives and delete past semesters works.