1. You may have noticed things look a little different around here - we've switched to a new platform (XenForo) and have some new forum styles and features. This how-to guide will help you find your way around. If you find anything that looks strange, post it in this thread.

Base System Device problem (Inspiron 1420)

Discussion in 'Dell Inspiron and Dell Studio' started by snowcaps, Nov 22, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. snowcaps

    snowcaps Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    I hope I'm posting this in the right forum...

    I recently bought an Inspiron 1420 with Vista preinstalled. I was unhappy with the OS so I uninstalled it and put XP Professional on instead. I've gotten all my drivers back except for the Base System Device. A pop-up 'Found New Hardware' comes up every time I log on and won't go away, otherwise I would ignore this missing driver, since my computer is running fine without it.

    Can someone tell me where to get an XP compatible driver for this, or tell me if it is even necessary to have a 'Base System Device'? Can I just uninstall it?

    Thank you!
     
  2. goofball

    goofball Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    358
    Messages:
    1,711
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    did you install drivers for the memory card reader?
     
  3. Amol

    Amol APH! NBR Reviewer

    Reputations:
    1,831
    Messages:
    1,850
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    You can always use Everest Home Edition [www.oldversion.com] - it's a freeware [It's discontinued, hence available at oldversion]. and it'll tell you everything about your hardware - maybe you can use that tool to see what exactly this "Base System Device" is.
     
  4. snowcaps

    snowcaps Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    goofball- where can I look to find out which memory card reader my computer has?

    amol- thanks, I'll try that!
     
  5. goofball

    goofball Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    358
    Messages:
    1,711
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
  6. snowcaps

    snowcaps Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    I tried the above link but it didn't work for me. It launches a new hardware installation wizard, and then it searches for device drivers but never finds any. I let it run for about an hour just to be sure, but it didn't make any progress.
     
  7. booboo12

    booboo12 Notebook Prophet

    Reputations:
    4,053
    Messages:
    4,250
    Likes Received:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Just a question, did you install what Dell calls the Notebook System Software (chipset driver)? According to Dell Support Online, you needed to install this first to ensure the computer would work properly.
    More Info-
     
  8. snowcaps

    snowcaps Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Yes, booboo12, I already have the chipset driver.

    Does anyone else have any suggestions? My computer seems to have been working fine despite the Base System Device not having its driver, but I'm really sick of the "Found New Hardware" wizard that pops up and won't go away every time I log on.

    Does anyone know if I can just erase the Base System Devices?
     
  9. anuclearbomb

    anuclearbomb Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Hi,
    I dont know if this reply is too late, but i have found the solution to this.
    Driver :

    http://supportapj.dell.com/support/...1&impid=-1&formatcnt=1&libid=27&fileid=188377

    I too had 3 unknown Base System Device. When u install this driver, they will ask u if u want to replace ur old driver (dell touch pad, Modem). U can choose not to for these two device that u already know, but for the 3rd one, u must choose yes. That's when they ask u to install Ricoh Company (rimsptsk) hdc, u must press yes.

    Then u will have no more unknown base system. It works for me :D
     
  10. malekizadeh

    malekizadeh Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Dear
    I have problem same as bellow problem
     
Similar Threads: Base System
Forum Title Date
Dell Inspiron and Dell Studio Inspiron M102Z (AMD Fusion Based System??) Mar 18, 2011
Dell Inspiron and Dell Studio Base System Device Driver? Oct 24, 2009
Dell Inspiron and Dell Studio Dell Studio 1537 and windows 7: Base Device Drivers? Jan 10, 2010
Dell Inspiron and Dell Studio Can I find a webcam bezel based LCD panel for the Inspiron 640M ? Dec 4, 2009
Dell Inspiron and Dell Studio I've searched a lot and don't see but one person having trouble with this system, the 17R 5720 my question is Mar 25, 2013

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page