AW17 R3 6820HK overclock/turbo throttling after S3 resume!

Discussion in '2015+ Alienware 13 / 15 / 17' started by gasongasoff, Dec 26, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. gasongasoff

    gasongasoff Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Laptop easily oc's to 3.9-4.0 GHz (using BIOS Level 1 or 2), no problem. But when notebook enters SLEEP mode and then is resumed, the cpu speed becomes capped at 3.6GHz (the non-overclocked turbo max). And ThrottleStop won't allow a multiplier to be set beyond 36x. Anyone have the same problem? (I know this was an issue with the AW17 R2, but here it is again with the R3!)

    upload_2015-12-26_11-52-34.png
     
  2. unclewebb

    unclewebb ThrottleStop Author

    Reputations:
    6,617
    Messages:
    5,543
    Likes Received:
    4,170
    Trophy Points:
    431
    In the ThrottleStop - FIVR window, is overclock checked? The Turbo Ratio Limits have to be set first before you can adjust the Set Multiplier value higher than 36. Post some screenshots so I can have a look.

    An updated version of ThrottleStop with improved support for Skylake CPUs should be ready in a few days.
     
    hmscott, pau1ow and jaybee83 like this.
  3. gasongasoff

    gasongasoff Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    16
    upload_2015-12-26_17-39-8.png "overclock" is grayed out
     
  4. gasongasoff

    gasongasoff Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    16
    upload_2015-12-26_17-41-22.png
    This is after resume from sleep. I can select a lower multiplier, but once I do this, it won't let me increase it beyond 36T.
     
  5. unclewebb

    unclewebb ThrottleStop Author

    Reputations:
    6,617
    Messages:
    5,543
    Likes Received:
    4,170
    Trophy Points:
    431
    Thanks for posting those pics. As mentioned, ThrottleStop 8.00 is not yet handling the Skylake CPUs correctly. I will send you an updated version in a few hours. It is not a finished version but I am interested to see if the Overclock option is enabled in the new version.

    It sounds like there is a bug in your bios. It should be setting the Overclock bit in the CPU after resuming from Stand By but it sounds like that is not working correctly.

    Have you tried using Intel XTU yet?

    Edit - Can you run CPU-Z, go to the About tab and then click on Save Report (.TXT).

    Copy and paste that info to www.pastebin.com and then post a link here so I can see what your CPU registers show.
     
    Last edited: Dec 26, 2015
  6. gasongasoff

    gasongasoff Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    16
  7. gasongasoff

    gasongasoff Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    16
    WOOHOO! The pre-release version of ThrottleStop you sent me works. After resuming from sleep, the CPU is back to 3.9-4.0 Ghz. And the "overclock" option is now available.
    Thanks a lot!
    Dellienware should pay you a commission. I was about to send this thing back for a refund.

    upload_2015-12-27_21-21-59.png
     
    unclewebb likes this.
  8. juggar

    juggar Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    12
    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Yup, I noticed this and figured "typical Dell"......

    I didnt say anything because its whatever. If I want to run OC id just reboot each time, not really a big deal.

    Dell needs to fix it though....
     
  9. unclewebb

    unclewebb ThrottleStop Author

    Reputations:
    6,617
    Messages:
    5,543
    Likes Received:
    4,170
    Trophy Points:
    431
    @gasongasoff - That's good news. Thanks for the feedback. If you have a moment can you post a screenshot of the entire FIVR window on the ThrottleStop thread in my sig. I am almost ready to release this updated version so some screenshots help me to see if everything is working as intended. A new 6600K for testing purposes is still on my things to buy list.

    A commission would be nice or at least a thank-you. ThrottleStop has been used to fix many of Dell's half baked projects for years. :)

    It will be interesting to see if Dell ever releases a bios update.

    Did you guys ever try using Intel XTU? Does it not solve this problem?
     
  10. gasongasoff

    gasongasoff Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Just circling back. I want to help more, but I gave up and returned the laptop to Dell for a refund. Too many things I didn't like about it. This was the last straw.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page