AutoCAD 2011 on HP workstations

Discussion in 'HP Business Class Notebooks' started by knight427, Aug 17, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. knight427

    knight427 theenemysgateisdown

    Reputations:
    1,158
    Messages:
    1,643
    Likes Received:
    127
    Trophy Points:
    81
    I am having an issue running AutoCAD 2011 LT on my 8740w with M7820 and have started a thread on the Autodesk forums. Someone with a 8540w (FX880M) is having the same issue. So i was hopoing to get feedback from everyone running AutoCAD 2011 (both FULL and LT).

    Problem: Display Auto Track tooltip significantly degrades performance. The text box popup pauses all cursor movement for 0.5s-1s on my 8740w (other user reports 3s pause on 8540w).

    My thread on Autodesk has been open for a few weeks, and this other user is the first to chime in as having the same issue. The fact that he has an HP with Nvidia graphics makes me wonder if it an HP issue. So please try this and report back.

    1) Under Options>Auto Track Settings, toggle Display Auto Track tooltip
    2) Open any drawing and make sure Osnap and Otrack are turned on. Start a line and move your cursor around.
    3) Note whether you see a significant difference in performance with the tooltip on/off. In my case, when it is on, snapping and tracking causes a significant pause in movement while the text box tries to display information. Turning the tooltip off removes the text box and snapping and tracking go back to normal.
    4) Report here with the following information:

    name
    AutoCAD version
    laptop
    GPU
    CPU
    Y/N (regarding problem described above)
    notes

    For example:

    knight427
    AutoCAD LT 2011
    8740w
    M7820
    820qm
    Yes
    courser pauses 0.5s-1s as tooltip tried to display information making drawing and measuring very frustrating
     
  2. knight427

    knight427 theenemysgateisdown

    Reputations:
    1,158
    Messages:
    1,643
    Likes Received:
    127
    Trophy Points:
    81
    Am I the only one using AutoCAD 2011 or AutoCAD LT 2011? If you do not experience the problem described in the above post, I am just as interested in hearing from you.
     
  3. aldoaldo

    aldoaldo Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    I do have a 8540w with quadro fx1800m and 8gig ram and i'm having the same problem in Autocad 2010!!

    It's kinda frustrating!!! I can't work with this.

    On Inventor i have no problem!!!
     
  4. JJcph

    JJcph Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Exact same problem here on a brand new HP 8740w:

    JJcph
    AutoCAD Architecture 2011 trial version
    Nvidia Quadro fx2800m
    Intel i7 640

    Yescourser pauses 0.5s-1s as tooltip tried to display information making drawing and measuring very frustrating
     
  5. Siorah

    Siorah Beware of Squirrels!

    Reputations:
    607
    Messages:
    737
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    31
    download the GPU accelerator driver from nvidia for autocad, this fixes the issue for me at least.
     
  6. stug

    stug Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    153
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    stug
    AutoCAD Architecture 2011 (Trial)
    8740w
    2800M
    840QM
    Yes
    courser pauses 0.5s-1s as tooltip tried to display information making drawing and measuring very frustrating. I think I have the nvidia drivers for AutoCAD, but there is no difference.
     
  7. wobin

    wobin Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Any updates on this issue? I have the same problems.

    2011 LT
    8740w
    M7820
    620M
    courser pauses 0.5s-1s as tooltip tried to display information making drawing and measuring
     
  8. Mech0z

    Mech0z Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    80
    Messages:
    506
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Sounds like my general tooltip error (Dont have autocad) some apps lag if a tooltip is shown, for example if I run a movie and a tooltip is shown then it all lags heavyly. So think its a vista/win 7 problem or just bad drivers from Nvidia
    Did the same if I play in window mode and a tooltip is shown then my game fps is cripled
     
  9. knight427

    knight427 theenemysgateisdown

    Reputations:
    1,158
    Messages:
    1,643
    Likes Received:
    127
    Trophy Points:
    81
    At least part of the problem is Aero. Here are your options.

    1) Most AutCAD versions allow you to to "Disable visual themes".
    right-click AutoCAD icon>properties>compatibility
    [​IMG]

    If you are unlucky like me, you will not be able to select this option (note how it is gray in the pic above). I think this has something to do with Windows 7 Pro64 due to replies I've received from other users on the Autodesk forums. But Autodesk doesn't seem to care to look into it. This leaves you with 2 other options.

    2) Switch to Win7 Basic. This is pretty easy, my only problem with it is that I actually need Aero to be running to use one the multi-tasking programs I use in conjunction with AutoCAD.

    3) You can also turn off the worst offending tool, Dynamic Input. There is a button to toggle this on/off.
    [​IMG]
    This will help some, and allow you to keep Aero running which is nice for multitasking. But it will not help the Measuring tool, if you do that a lot, you really need to use option (2) above instead.

    So I'm kind of stuck. Aero allows me run a small program that increases my productivity while building a model in an acoustics simulation program...(don't ask about exporting/importing 3d drawings...it only works in theory). This is how I use AutoCAD 75% of the time...pulling coordinates off drawings to build a 3d model in another program. Turning off Dynamic Input helps some, but I use the measure tool a lot too, which is still slow and jerky until I switch to Win7 Basic.
     
  10. Siorah

    Siorah Beware of Squirrels!

    Reputations:
    607
    Messages:
    737
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    31
    if you're using just the drawings, why are you not just importing them into 3ds max, and using that software?

    just confused
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page