Auto car Insurance, online?

Discussion in 'Motorized Vehicles' started by nodeffect, Dec 21, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. nodeffect

nodeffect Notebook Evangelist

Reputations:
    Hi guys, do you think buying auto insurance online is a good idea? I found out that the price online is like usd10 cheaper than going tru an agent. Why is it?

And one more question, I need to renew my car tag, if I buy insurance online, would I able to get the insurance on the spot and renew my car tag after I buy it online?

Please help. This is my first time buying a car and getting all these things.

2. aan310

aan310 Notebook Virtuoso

Reputations:
    Well, for $10 i'd say its not a big deal either way, what ever you are comfortable with.

I got mine online, but that was with Geico

3. nodeffect

Reputations:
    thats cool, but I need to renew my tag, can I get the insurance online and use that to renew my tag? what do I get if I get it online, will they provide me a form to print and give it to the Tag agency?

4. HTWingNut

HTWingNut Potato

Reputations:
    Most online agencies will give you a proof of insurance to print out immediately. At least the handful of online insurance agencies I've dealt with over the years. (Geico, Esurance, AAA, Citizens)

5. 1ceBlu3

1ceBlu3 Notebook Deity

Reputations:
    we're through progressive! lovin it.
    but like aan310 said.. go with what is comfortable for you

6. nodeffect

Reputations:
    yea, I try to apply progressive online but there's one part I could not fill out, its about the Lease and Loan thing, it's asking me which bank i'm using for the lease/loan? But I buy that car through my friend, how do i fill that?

7. 1ceBlu3

1ceBlu3 Notebook Deity

Reputations:
    mmm..tried looking for that..not sure.you could always do it over the phone..i'm sure then someone could make changes for it..
    sorry couldn't be more help....or you could contact customer service..

8. nodeffect

Reputations: