1. You may have noticed things look a little different around here - we've switched to a new platform (XenForo) and have some new forum styles and features. This how-to guide will help you find your way around. If you find anything that looks strange, post it in this thread.

ATI RADEON 3100 card question

Discussion in 'Gaming (Software and Graphics Cards)' started by gadawg31, Sep 22, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. gadawg31

    gadawg31 Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    9
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    I recently purchased a Toshiba satellite L305D with an ATI RADEON 3100 graphics with 256MB-894MB shared video memory. I was wondering if someone could explain to me about the 256-894MB shared memory. What does this mean? How do I expand the memory? I know these may sound like basic questions, but I have always been used to stand alone video cards with their own memory. Is this a good card? Will it hold up to some gaming and if so how hard core can I go with the gaming, for example, Ghost Recon, Battfield editions, Call of Duty? Thanks in advance for your help. Take care

    v/r

    Gadawg31
     
  2. brianstretch

    brianstretch Notebook Virtuoso

    Reputations:
    440
    Messages:
    3,667
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    105
    The GPU is integrated into the notebook's chipset and uses 256-894MB of system memory for graphics. Configuring more than 256MB is a waste. The Radeon 3100 is a downgraded version of the Radeon 3200 HP notebooks often use. The 3200 is equivalent to NVIDIA's low-end dedicated GPUs. I'm not sure about the 3100.
     
  3. Citizen86

    Citizen86 Notebook User Guy

    Reputations:
    203
    Messages:
    1,184
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    It's an intergrated video card, so it doesn't have any dedicated memory, it just "borrows" from your RAM. So with intergrated video cards you end up having a little less RAM than you would if you had a dedicated card.
     
  4. masterchef341

    masterchef341 The guy from The Notebook

    Reputations:
    3,047
    Messages:
    8,658
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    206
    it should be fine for older battlefield and call of duty games (battlefield 2, maybe the new free battlefield game coming out for the pc)
     
  5. Age of wind

    Age of wind Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    1
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    my laptop for school has the same card but instead of shared it says 256 MB Dedicated Video Ram and up to 1150 MB System Ram shared if needed.


    The card should handle old PC games fine just dont expect it will cut through games like F.E.A.R. like a knife through butter, obviously Crysis is way beyond its reach.
     
  6. hayden88

    hayden88 Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    will this card be able to play command and conquer 3: tiberium wars?
    my ram is 3gb
    processor is 2.1 dual core
     
  7. Citizen86

    Citizen86 Notebook User Guy

    Reputations:
    203
    Messages:
    1,184
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    That's a couple years old now, isn't it? I'm sure it'll do alright with it.
     
  8. Hep!

    Hep! sees beauty in everything

    Reputations:
    1,806
    Messages:
    5,921
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    205
    Wrong. That game will run at 3-5 FPS tops on lowest settings on that laptop.
     
  9. Citizen86

    Citizen86 Notebook User Guy

    Reputations:
    203
    Messages:
    1,184
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    Well my bad, the game was only released last year... minimum specs though call for "GeForce 4 Ti, ATI Radeon 8500 video card, Intel GMA 900", that doesn't sound like Crysis to me ;)

    3100 Radeon is I'm sure better than an Intel GMA 900... I didn't say that he should expect to crank up any settings, but on lowish settings I'm willing to bet he could get playable framerates. You only need 15-20 FPS for a strategy game like that anyways.... IMO
     
  10. Hep!

    Hep! sees beauty in everything

    Reputations:
    1,806
    Messages:
    5,921
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    205
    Those may be the official specs but considering how poorly it was played on a Radeon 9700 Mobility and a desktop Geforce 5200 (it was unplayable on the 5200, the Radeon played it lowest settings with occasional lag), I'm doubting it would even begin to run okay on a GMA 900. Same goes for a Radeon 3100.
     
Similar Threads: RADEON 3100
Forum Title Date
Gaming (Software and Graphics Cards) Steam streaming, Hardware decoding, ATI Radeon 3100 (Help!) Aug 30, 2014
Gaming (Software and Graphics Cards) 256MB ATI Mobility Radeon HD4330 Vs Intel GMAX3100 Vs NVIDIA Oct 8, 2009
Gaming (Software and Graphics Cards) ATI Radeon 3100 Graphics divers Jun 18, 2009
Gaming (Software and Graphics Cards) Can ATI Radeon 3100 play civilization May 8, 2009
Gaming (Software and Graphics Cards) ATI Radeon HD 3100 vs. Intel GMA x4500M ??? Jan 30, 2009

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page