ASUS Zephyrus (GX501VS) or MSI Stealth Pro (GS63VR)

Discussion in 'What Notebook Should I Buy?' started by HackxBox, Sep 4, 2017.

1. HackxBox

HackxBox Newbie

Reputations:
    Similar price; same CPU; similar amount of RAM; same GPU - 1070 Max-Q. However very different look and feel; display; keyboard...

Any real-life experiences/informed opinions are welcome!

A bit more elaboration:
    1. I've read through multiple reviews and tests (including everything on the NotebookCheck <3) , and I know pretty much every detail about the 2 laptops. I would like to hear somebody's real-life experience with either.

2. I know Max-Q is crippled, but for me thin and light is more important than full performance, as I will be hauling the laptop to/form my office every day since I am using it as a workstation as well - I am a graphics/multimedia designer and I need a powerful machine with a lot of GPU horsepower. I think the MSI wins here, however NotebookCheck has pretty bad rating for Stealth Pro's screens - something that is very important to me.

3. I am currently using the highest specced HP Omen 15 1st Gen with SSD and Wi-Fi upgrades of my own, and it's aesthetics, the screen, the keyboard and the overall performance are still outstanding to the point I have a really difficult time parting with it (), so I am looking for something that is at least as exciting as it - in that regard I think the Asus is the winner.

4. I am also a casual gamer, so in the evenings this becomes my gaming rig, where I also use nVidia GameStream to my Shield TV device.
    Cheers!

2. don_svetlio

don_svetlio Notebook Virtuoso

Reputations:
    1070MQ is closer to a 1060 than a 1070..

Vistar Shook and sicily428 like this.
  3. Vistar Shook

Vistar Shook Notebook Evangelist

Reputations: