1. You may have noticed things look a little different around here - we've switched to a new platform (XenForo) and have some new forum styles and features. This how-to guide will help you find your way around. If you find anything that looks strange, post it in this thread.

ASUS X202E - Can't get in to change BIOS settings

Discussion in 'Asus' started by CTaylor, Dec 14, 2012.

  1. CTaylor

    CTaylor Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    I have a new ASUS X202E and need to get into the BIOS settings so I can modify the boot order. I want to be able to boot from a USB device so I can use a recovery DVD or bootable flash drive for Acronis True Image or Macrium Reflect.

    The manual that comes on disk says to press F2 while booting. Unfortunately, it does not work for me. I tried tapping when the ASUS logo is on-screen, tried holding it down right after powering on, holding it down before even hitting the power button, etc. Nothing interrupts the normal Windows 8 boot. According to the manual F9 during boot-up is supposed to take me to the Windows trouble-shooting screen. It doesn't. I tried using Del, Ins, Esc. None of those keys interrupts the boot into Windows.

    All the keys work normally once in Windows, so it is not like the keyboard is faulty.

    I also tried just attaching the USB-based DVD drive to see if it would automatically boot from it. It doesn't.

    I opened an email support with ASUS and they just keep insisting F2 should work. They also said that, to boot from a USB DVD drive, I could attach the drive and hit Esc while starting the computer and it should present me with an option to boot from the DVD. It doesn't (Esc keys does not seem to do anything different)

    The only option they have given me now is to get an RMA number and return the computer.

    I bought it on-line at Amazon.ca, so it is not like I can just march down to the store and swap it for another or something.

    I really like the X202E. But I don't like the idea of having a computer that will not permit me to do a recovery in the event of problems.

    Anyone out there have an X202E that can tell me if hitting F2 during boot-up works for them?

    Thanks

    Chris
     
  2. CTaylor

    CTaylor Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    I just went to a local Best Buy. They have the X202E with the Pentium 987 processor. The keys to get into the BIOS (F2) and the Windows 8 Trouble-shooting screens (F9) work fine on their machine.

    I have the X202E with the Core-i3.

    I don't know if that is the difference.

    Anyhow, if anyone knows a solution for my problem of not being able to get into the BIOS settings, I would appreciate it.

    Chris
     
  3. Prostar Computer

    Prostar Computer Company Representative

    Reputations:
    845
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    4,995
    Try pressing the "Pause Break" key at the splash screen during POST. That should pause it, allowing you to try different keys to get into BIOS. F9 typically accesses the recovery for Asus, I think. You can also try the Del key to get into BIOS.

    And your keyboard works fine otherwise, right?
     
  4. CTaylor

    CTaylor Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks much. Unfortunately, hitting the "pause break" key does not work. I tried tapping it, holding it down, waiting for the black/grey screen to appear, waiting for the ASUS logo to come up (just after the black/grey screen). All no good. It is almost as if the keyboard is disabled until the main Windows 8 screen comes up.

    Yes, all the keys work normally once I am in Windows 8.

    Very frustrating...

    Other than this problem, the computer works great and is a nice little unit.

    Chris
     
  5. Prostar Computer

    Prostar Computer Company Representative

    Reputations:
    845
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    4,995
    You just need to press it once. Pressing any key after you've hit it once - including the same key - causes it to progress. It's all a matter of timing (as is hitting the right key for the BIOS setup). Maybe it's a firmware problem. Sorry my first suggestion didn't help much!

    You can also just spam a bunch of F keys and the delete key as well during startup/POST. Eventually you'll hit the right one, haha (assuming the keys are registering at all).

    Feel free to plug in a USB keyboard and try it from that, too.
     
  6. CTaylor

    CTaylor Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks again. I tried hitting keys just once (F2, F9, Esc, Pause/break, Delete, insert. Tried it quite a few times with different timing and nothing worked.

    I thought a USB keyboard might make a difference. If I only needed to plug in a keyboard when I wanted to change BIOS setting or boot from a USB device, I could live with that. But unfortunately, it doesn't help. Still no keys seem to do anything until the Windows splash screen appears.

    Chris
     
  7. Prostar Computer

    Prostar Computer Company Representative

    Reputations:
    845
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    4,995
    Probably faulty firmware, then. :( My ASRock motherboard would disable my keyboard whenever I came to the "Press any key to boot from disc..." screen, haha; I would get so frustrated. Eventually, I think either a BIOS reset or reverting to defaults fixed it.

    You can try removing the CMOS battery for 1 minute to refresh it, and then reinsert it and try again to access your BIOS. But that would require you to open up the laptop and void your warranty, so... it might be better for you to contact Asus for technical support.

    My last recommendation are:

    1. Firmware update, if applicable, or
    2. Remove battery and AC adapter, and anything else connected; leave for at least 30 seconds (press power button a couple of times during this wait), then plug battery and/or adapter back in and try to access your BIOS again.

    Those and removing the CMOS battery, but again - removing the CMOS battery will void your warranty! Good luck!
     
  8. CTaylor

    CTaylor Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks again for all your assistance. Truly appreciated.

    Unfortunately, the X202E comes with a non-removable battery!

    I guess I will send it back to ASUS.

    Chris
     
  9. Jim0050

    Jim0050 Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    I also ran into this problem. A workaround I found was that a restart with F2 works, but a cold boot with F2 does not work. I think this has something to do with the new UEFI secure boot. Preventing getting into the BIOS on a cold boot makes it more secure.

    Jim
     
  10. Honza007

    Honza007 Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    50
    Btw classic "boot menu" can be viewed by hitting "ESC" key (escape key) - next to F1.
     

Share This Page