*** ASUS ROG Zephyrus S GX701GX-XS76 Owner's Lounge ***

Discussion in 'ASUS Reviews and Owners' Lounges' started by Ultra Male, Jan 9, 2019.

  1. Alex555

    Alex555 Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    113
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    52
    Trophy Points:
    41
    German review of the GX 701GX is here: https://www.notebookcheck.com/Test-...-2080-Max-Q-Laptop.410376.0.html#toc-leistung
    Apparently the 2080 max-q is the 90w version.
    They state that it has 2xm.2 slots, so does the official asus website ( https://www.asus.com/us/Laptops/ROG-ZEPHYRUS-S-GX701/Tech-Specs/ )
    If it had 2 m.2 slots, it would be amazing - could you confirm that? And how are your temperatures and clocks while gaming?
     
    piteris2 likes this.
  2. JRey

    JRey Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    141
    Messages:
    493
    Likes Received:
    384
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Yea, you guys have the 90w version. You can tell based on the clock speeds.
    735-1090 is 80w
    990-1230 is 90w


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  3. piteris2

    piteris2 Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    2
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    16
    What’s the big deal with having two M.2 slots rather than one? Isn’t the SSD in the GX701GX 1TB? Surely that’s more than enough, plus you could upgrade it if you wanted to.
     
  4. piteris2

    piteris2 Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    2
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    16
  5. Alex555

    Alex555 Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    113
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    52
    Trophy Points:
    41
    1tb is just a joke for a gaming notebook when games like battlefield, gta V or far cry 5 take up more than 50gb each (far cry 5 for example uses 63gb).
    Having a second m.2 slot is great for putting in a "cheap" drive, while having the very fast and reliable samsung nvme ssd for OS, important data and some games.
     
    _deadbydawn_ likes this.
  6. [Alpha]-0mega-

    [Alpha]-0mega- Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    6
    First of all: Rename the TU104.zip file to TU104.rom (I just renamed the extension, I didn't actually zip it up)

    Second: Here's some Time Spy benchmarks.
    https://www.3dmark.com/spy/6416430 (Stock, zero tweaking, 'Balanced' Mode)

    https://www.3dmark.com/3dm/34061653? (Stock, zero tweaking, 'Turbo' Mode)

    https://www.3dmark.com/3dm/34063058? (-100mV cpu, -50mV GPU, 'Turbo' Mode)

    https://www.3dmark.com/3dm/34063371? (-100mV cpu, 0mV GPU, 'Turbo' Mode)

    I didn't alter *any* settings at all (like speed shift) on ThrottleStop for the undervolted run.
    At this point I'm not sure if it's worth undervolting for 'performance' (but hey who knows about the long term right?)
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Feb 28, 2019
  7. JRey

    JRey Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    141
    Messages:
    493
    Likes Received:
    384
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Awesome score! Higher than my flashed 90w from a Razer Blade.
    I’ll flash my GPu tonight and share some scores and temps, assuming my flash won’t error out.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
    [Alpha]-0mega- likes this.
  8. piteris2

    piteris2 Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    2
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    16
    You are right, but I’d rather put my games on a fast SSD of a smaller capacity than on a slow HDD with a large capacity. That’s why I kinda hate HDDs in gaming laptops. In some games loading times are actually very crucial...
     
  9. [Alpha]-0mega-

    [Alpha]-0mega- Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    6
  10. JRey

    JRey Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    141
    Messages:
    493
    Likes Received:
    384
    Trophy Points:
    76
    I tried to flash but it wouldn't let me. You may have a different GPU overall from other 2080 Max-Q GPUs. I'm assuming you have a full 2080 flashed to a Max-Q variant.
     
Loading...

Share This Page