Asus N61Jq & Ubuntu 10.04 Issues

Discussion in 'Linux Compatibility and Software' started by BassKozz, May 8, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. BassKozz

    BassKozz Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    12
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2006
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    1. The webcam produces an upside down image.
    Possible Solutions (I haven't tried): [kubuntu] [HOW-TO] Upside-down image from UVC webcam - Ubuntu Forums

    2. Touchpad doesn't turn off while you type.
    Solution that doesn't work: Ubuntu: Automatically Disable TouchPad While Typing ~ Web Upd8
    <code>
    syndaemon -d
    Unable to find a synaptics device.
    </code>

    3. When an external monitor is connected, the Gamma setting for the laptop's display get's set to "1.00", when I go into the Catalyst Control Center it says it's only set for "0.50" but when I click on the "Default" button the brightness of the screen doesn't change, then when I click on the reset button for Gamma the screen goes back to it's normal brightness/gamma.

    Any pointers would be greatly appreciated,
    -BassKozz
     

    Attached Files:

  2. ALLurGroceries

    ALLurGroceries http://chromebookbuyer.com Super Moderator

    Reputations:
    9,541
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Messages:
    6,852
    Likes Received:
    507
    Trophy Points:
    281
    You can start any application that uses the webcam with an option that flips the image. See my post here: http://forum.notebookreview.com/linux-compatibility-software/315810-linux-asus-n10-n10j-77.html#post6222902

    You need to patch the psmouse kernel module since you have an Elantech touchpad. I wrote instructions for this here: [ubuntu] Elantech touchpad improperly recognized as “ImPS/2 Logitech Wheel Mouse” - Page 5 - Ubuntu Forums

    After you have patched, the command you want to disable the touchpad while typing is:
    Code:
    syndaemon -i 1 -d
    Sorry I have no ideas about your ATI settings. Good luck.
     
  3. BassKozz

    BassKozz Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    12
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2006
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    ALLurGroceries,

    Thank you so much for your feedback, it is GREATLY appreciated...

    I guess I could re-write my shortcuts for firefox, chrome, skype, etc... to use:
    Code:
    export LIBV4LCONTROL_FLAGS=3
    but it would be nice to have a universal solution to this problem for all applications. I am almost at the point of cracking open the bezel and manually flipping the camera upside down :p

    Thanks I'll give this a go. Just to be clear this won't affect any other (USB) mouse connected to the laptop, just the touchpad, correct?
    I assume that because it's the PS2 mouse kernel that this is correct, but I just want to double check.

    No worries, I think I'll take this one to the ATI forums...

    Thanks again,
    -BassKozz
     
  4. BassKozz

    BassKozz Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    12
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2006
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Ohh, and 1 other thing I noticed, some of the function key's don't work...
    For example Fn+F9 (to turn off trackpad) doesn't do anything :(
     
  5. ALLurGroceries

    ALLurGroceries http://chromebookbuyer.com Super Moderator

    Reputations:
    9,541
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Messages:
    6,852
    Likes Received:
    507
    Trophy Points:
    281
  6. HERSANDI

    HERSANDI Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    ATI MOBILITY RADEON HD 5730
    Someone could put a screen resolution greater than 1366x768.
    How I can do?
    I have installed the ATI drivers 8.723.1-100408a-098580C-ATI

    Thanks
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page