Asus G703GX or Lenovo y740?

Discussion in 'What Notebook Should I Buy?' started by GooPuddles, Nov 22, 2019.

1. GooPuddles

GooPuddles Newbie

Reputations:
    I'm trying to decide between two heavily discounted gaming laptop options. I'd be hoping for something that is as "future compatible" as possible. I play a variety of games (currently Total War: Warhammer 2). I'll only be moving the laptop around the house, so mobility and battery life isn't a huge factor at all.

Lenovo y740:

https://www.lenovo.com/us/en/laptop...n-y-series/Lenovo-Legion-Y740-17/p/81UJ0001US

-OR-

Asus ROG G703GX

https://smile.amazon.com/dp/B07N6PG...olid=2SXYJXG322NRK&psc=1&ref_=lv_ov_lig_dp_it

Summary:

17" Lenovo y740 $1799 ( Intel Core i7-9750H | RTX 2080 Max-Q | 1TB SSD)

-vs-

17" Asus ROG G703GX $2389 (Intel Core i9-8950HK | RTX 2080 | 512 SSD)

I'm new to all this and don't really understand the technical specs differences pros and cons. Can't tell which CPU is better. One has a full RTX GPU, the other has a larger hard drive. My budget is flexible, but looking for the best deal I can on a quality laptop that will last. Any help is much appreciated!

1) What is your budget? Flexible. Around $2,000 to $2,500USD

2) What size notebook would you prefer? 17"
    3) Which country will you buying this notebook? US

4) Are there any brands that you prefer or any you really don't like? N/A
    5) Would you consider laptops that are refurbished/redistributed? Sure.

6) What are the primary tasks will you be performing with this notebook? Gaming.

7) Will you be taking the notebook with you to different places, leaving it on your desk or both? Just around the house.

8) Will you be playing games on your notebook? Warhammer 2, Witcher 3, mmo's, a variety

9) How many hours of battery life do you need? Not really important.

10) Would you prefer to see the notebooks you're considering before purchasing it or buying a notebook on-line without seeing it is OK? Doesn't matter.