ArchISO, the Arch Linux Live-CD

Discussion in 'Linux Compatibility and Software' started by Baserk, Dec 16, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Baserk

    Baserk Notebook user

    Reputations:
    2,503
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1,794
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    56
    As DistroWatch reports, a new Arch linux Live-CD is available.

    Arch Linux has a rolling-release model; there are no fixed periodic new versions.
    New (and improved) software is distributed as soon as the Arch team find it stable enough for it's user base.
    This means you won't have to update every (half) year like with Ubuntu et al.
    Your Arch install is always up-to-date.

    Arch does require a moderate level of linux experience, it's not meant for newbies.
    However, this Live-CD offers every mortal a chance to experience why Arch has become so popular among more seasoned users.

    Now, before all the experienced Archers here on NBR start shouting "Heresy! Blasphemy! Sacrilege! Desecration!"
    I know.
    One should be able to install Arch in the usual/standard/hardcore way, in order to fully enjoy such a beautiful distro.
    But the Arch Xfce Live-CD (685MB) is meant for all lesser gods (me included). ;)
    Enjoy.
     
  2. ChivalricRonin

    ChivalricRonin Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    7
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    I think these ISOs are a great way to get into Arch. Arch is about doing it yourself, but you should have options. The Chakra project was to have a more full-featured KDE4 or KDEMod desktop LiveCD, but last I tested it didn't work very well.

    Arch is at current, my distro of choice. Its up to date (sometimes to a bleeding edge fault) and you learn a lot using it.
     
  3. Enunes

    Enunes Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    156
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Heresy! Blasphemy! Sacrilege! Desecration!


    alright ok jk, but I do think it sort of loses the fun this way. My opinion still says that one could just follow the Beginners' guide and learn a lot more during the process. Or if one doesn't want to, it's probably safer to just run any other distro which is actually meant for being user friendly...
     
  4. joeelmex

    joeelmex Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    229
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    518
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Im on vacation next week and I might join the Arch bandwagon, if I can get the raid -0 working on it. Hehe. Last time I tried I failed miserable, I got close, but not close enough.
     
  5. helikaon

    helikaon Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    269
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Is Arch still based only around the Intel CPUs? This was what kept me from trying it seriously. I need distro that runs on both platforms, or i don't bother to spend the time ...
     
  6. Thomas

    Thomas McLovin

    Reputations:
    1,988
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,253
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    205
    What do you mean by based around intel CPUs? Arch has always supported any x86 processor.
     
  7. theZoid

    theZoid Notebook Savant

    Reputations:
    1,324
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    5,194
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    206
    Thanks Baserk...is this 64 bit? I'll check it out...I can't run a cable where I'm at, that's what has kept me from it in the past...
     
  8. ChivalricRonin

    ChivalricRonin Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    7
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    To my understanding, Arch runs just fine on AMD cpus as well, including Arch 64bit. Its kernal is usually the latest available of the 2.6 branch, and includes support for x86 and x64 instruction sets.
     
  9. theZoid

    theZoid Notebook Savant

    Reputations:
    1,324
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    5,194
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    206
    I'm on it now....first time I've been online with Arch....Archers: what's a command to install the gnome DE and remove most of the Xfce DE? I have two paid for programs that pretty much need gnome.

    thanks.....(I'll look up BT myself....just want a quick start...:)
     
  10. ChivalricRonin

    ChivalricRonin Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    7
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    I'm not sure how the live CD installed the XFCE DE, be it through the same packages or not etc... but I suggest reading through...

    http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Beginners_Guide
    http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Xfce#What_is_Xfce.3F
    http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Gnome

    To uninstall, pretty much use the install commands except with "pacman -R packagename" or "pacman -Rn packagename" (The second removes unused dependencies)

    To check which of the XFCE metas are installed, use "pacman -Q packagename" and then remove them with the -R or -Rn switch again.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page