And another.. 7970m in M17x R2..Installation with photos

Discussion in 'Alienware 17 and M17x' started by flingin, Jul 16, 2012.

  1. flingin

    flingin M17x R2 Mafia

    Reputations:
    443
    Messages:
    1,173
    Likes Received:
    305
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Hey guyz, just finished installing 7970m in my R2 ( Currently Running 7970M CrossFire )



    Currently ON 13.11 Beta V8 Drivers
    http://support.amd.com/en-us/kb-articles/Pages/latest-catalyst-windows-beta.aspx

    I am on A10 Unlocked bios

    Fans are working auto, HDMI works with Beta 13.6 AMD drivers, but only Video, updates to come about audio

    On the back of my card you can see white label with a mark v1.2G which is the card version. I strongly recommend to get this one, also, you will need to flash the card with this VBIOS

    Modified CLEVO 7970M vBIOS Pack (Non-Enduro)-> in there you will find stock Vbios and some modified voltage vbioses for overclocking.->
    http://zaladuj.to/530wkx9s3yu7/Clevo_7970M_vBIOS_-_P270WM_-_Mod_pack.zip.html

    ALL Credits for providing this VBios Files goes to:

    Nospheratu, svl7, test2013, kahboom, Aikei



    Also to note ! - DELL branded cards -> fans will work constantly on around 2500 rpm (low profile), you will have to use HWinfo program to controll the fans, if you won't use HWinfo then you may end up on frying your card GG no RE, so i got myself a CLEVO CARD from Eurocom.

    VGA port is working OK, Display Port is NOT

    Card is running at 33-37'C idle, and ok 69'C in diablo 3, 85'c in Metro 2033, about 79 in Crysis 2, ( all temps are measured WITHOUT using cooling Pad ) fan have a strange profile, it is not aggresive at all, but this is good i think.

    CRYSIS 2, Hardcore preset 1920x1200 >50 FPS constant

    I could overclock the card from standard 850/1200 to 1000/1400 on standard voltage !


    some quick tips

    1. 6970m has the same x-bracket as 7970m, ...4870m and 5870m have different shape X-Brackets and are NOT compatible. so if you have 6970m already, you don't need to worry, you will just swap x-bracket from 6970m to 7970m. If you have 4870m or 5870m, you will have to ask your preferred seller to include new bracket with your card, as they often may sell the card without any additions.


    If you are upgrading to nVidia 780m, you will be happy to see that x-bracket from 5870m card fits 780M, i will be upgrading to 780m soon, at least attempting to upgrade. Updates to come around mid JULY - UPDATE on 780M - The card refuses to work in R2 so for now DO NOT BUY IT .....BUT, it has been proven that 680M IS WORKING OK. LINK -> http://forum.notebookreview.com/ali...-2gb-4gb-680m-work-m17x-r2-2.html#post8776296


    2. clean your R2 from all AMD drivers and use Driver sweeper, reboot, and install newest AMD drivers ..link
    http://support.amd.com/en-us/kb-articles/Pages/latest-catalyst-windows-beta.aspx These are 13.11 v8 BETA Drivers

    3. you will need Phobya (or any other brand ) 1mm thermal pads, good thermal paste like IC Diamond 7, Philips screwdriver, isopropanol

    4. you probably need to watch this before you start and never done this before
    M17x Teardown Video1 of 2 **READ SAFETY PRECAUTIONS PRIOR TO REPLACING PARTS** (Official Video) - YouTube

    5. you can see this for reference as well
    http://forum.notebookreview.com/ali...-6990-your-m17x-r2-single-gpu-crossfirex.html

    6. Bought my card from Eurocom Canada, this card have Hynix memory chips,i will strongly recommend to get Eurocom Cards, as i have no problems with them.

    To get the cards priceing you will have to contact Eurocom trough their website, or get it trough ebay listing, their ebay username is: upgradeyourlaptop

    7. Default 240Watt adapter is more than enough for OC'd 920XM and single 7970m

    8. If you want, you CAN also upgrade to 8970M without any problems as 8970M is just a rebranded 7970m with double the memory (4GB) and slightly rized Core clock (by 50MHz)

    check this out, enjoy the power :D


    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    3d mark 11 run at stock settings (just cpu 25@4 cores 90/75 TDP/TDC)

    7970Mhttp://www.3dmark.com/3dm11/6843550 VS 780M also in my laptop (Via External screen Only) http://www.3dmark.com/3dm11/7013278 (links may not work)

    3d mark vantage

    AMD Radeon HD 7970M video card benchmark result - Intel Core i7-950 Processor,Alienware score: P20732 3DMarks WITHOUT OC
    http://www.3dmark.com/3dmv/4796472 WITH OC 980/1420

    Fire Strike http://www.3dmark.com/fs/830127 OC 970/1420

    Fire Strike in CrossFire http://www.3dmark.com/fs/1138741
     
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2016
  2. bigtonyman

    bigtonyman Desktop Powa!!!

    Reputations:
    2,370
    Messages:
    5,023
    Likes Received:
    253
    Trophy Points:
    251
    Congrats on the new cards!! :)
     
  3. OblastSRT4

    OblastSRT4 Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    199
    Messages:
    411
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Such a sexy card. Let us know how it runs in games.
     
  4. radji

    radji Farewell, Solenya...

    Reputations:
    3,839
    Messages:
    3,042
    Likes Received:
    2,420
    Trophy Points:
    231
    A.W.E.S.O.M.E. :eek:

    Two questions:

    1. You say dispatched in your sig? Is that just another name for I bought the card from Dell? If so, how much?

    2. How's it running? Any issues with sleep, shutdown, HDMI Audio, etc.?
     
  5. flingin

    flingin M17x R2 Mafia

    Reputations:
    443
    Messages:
    1,173
    Likes Received:
    305
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Games are running great !
    No Sleep issues
    HDMI Video is working OK
    HDMI audio NOT
     
  6. alexnvidia

    alexnvidia Notebook Deity

    Reputations:
    224
    Messages:
    1,003
    Likes Received:
    188
    Trophy Points:
    81
    From what you mentioned, my stock 5870M X bracket is compatible with 7970M card from eurocom? can you provide a link to the site you bought your card please? thanks
     
  7. radji

    radji Farewell, Solenya...

    Reputations:
    3,839
    Messages:
    3,042
    Likes Received:
    2,420
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Ahh, just read you got your from Eurocom. I will hope and pray that someone gets the HDMI fully functional. That's the make-or-break point for me.
     
  8. flingin

    flingin M17x R2 Mafia

    Reputations:
    443
    Messages:
    1,173
    Likes Received:
    305
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Sorry, i was rushing the guide :D, 4870/5870m x-brackets are not the same as 6970/7970m ones

    Card bought directly from eurocom

    Thank you :)
     
  9. neklec

    neklec Notebook Geek

    Reputations:
    17
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Flingin,
    I congratulate on updating
    You can check display port works?
     
  10. flingin

    flingin M17x R2 Mafia

    Reputations:
    443
    Messages:
    1,173
    Likes Received:
    305
    Trophy Points:
    101
    i dont have the correct cable.... anybody using this lol ?? :p
     
Loading...

Share This Page