1. You may have noticed things look a little different around here - we've switched to a new platform (XenForo) and have some new forum styles and features. This how-to guide will help you find your way around. If you find anything that looks strange, post it in this thread.

AMD UnderVolting

Discussion in 'Hardware Components and Aftermarket Upgrades' started by Mantikos, Oct 12, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Mantikos

    Mantikos Notebook Geek

    Reputations:
    7
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    AMD UnderVolting
    1. Please download AMD Fusion
    AMD FUSION
    2. Reboot
    3. Install AMD OverDrive
    AMD OverDrive
    4. Launch AMD OverDrive

    Here are the images...Its pretty straight fwd

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    The white boxes should guide you through the process...


    I am not sure which processors are not supported yet, I do know that it supports all the latest Turions that RMClock doesnt.
     
  2. mr__bean

    mr__bean Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    36
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    What cpus does this work on,

    I have an AMD Turion TL-64, Would it work?

    (ATI RS690 chipset)
     
  3. miner

    miner Notebook Nobel Laureate

    Reputations:
    1,326
    Messages:
    7,143
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    205
    It only works if you have the 780G chipset.
     
  4. Mantikos

    Mantikos Notebook Geek

    Reputations:
    7
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    You should be able to use RMClock since yours is an older AMD...else give this a shot and let me know
     
  5. Evolution

    Evolution Vox Sola

    Reputations:
    413
    Messages:
    1,293
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    Exactly... I tried using overdrive when AMD first released it and when it scanned my notebook it said that the 780G chipset was not detected. Overdrive only works if you have an AMD 700 series chipset (Puma etc).

    Anyway RMclock works for me so no complaints here.
     
  6. Mantikos

    Mantikos Notebook Geek

    Reputations:
    7
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    Yes, this guide is only for people with newer AMD systems not supported by RMClock
     
  7. marcklaser

    marcklaser Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    27
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Why do you have to install Fusion for this?
     
  8. rustyslacker

    rustyslacker Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    This "guide" hasn't helped much. The first time I tried Overdrive, programs would not start correctly on my next boot. I uninstalled it. Tonight when I tried it again, I changed the voltage (kind of; when on High Performance mode, the voltage kept moving back to 0.800, although that's down from what it was). Upon my next boot, I typed my password to log in and my system locked up. I rebooted, and logged in, and started Overdrive. When I went to "load profile" my system completely locked up again.

    So what the ****?
     
  9. miner

    miner Notebook Nobel Laureate

    Reputations:
    1,326
    Messages:
    7,143
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    205
    Unfortunately, the software doesnt officially support the M780G yet, so there is bound to be some issues when run on such systems.


    P.S - If anyone is unable to boot into Vista at all then just boot into safe mode and disable the AMD overdrive service from starting up automatically. You should be able to find this menu from Start-> in the search box type 'service' and it should be the first Program on the search result. Disable this service and reboot the computer to boot normally.
     
  10. Mantikos

    Mantikos Notebook Geek

    Reputations:
    7
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    Cause in my case, Overdrive didnt recognize the system as an AMD one and moreover fusion allows you to overclock your graphics core speed (I believe some on these forums clocked his HP dv5z HD3450 to 700 instead of 500) and you can create a windows like power profile with fusion to load on every startup
     
  11. checkmait

    checkmait Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    9
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    They keep changing the name. They used to call it AMD Cool n' Quiet technology back in my 9750 days ;D
     
  12. danwat1234

    danwat1234 Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    11
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I installed Fusion & Overdrive.
    From the overdrive utility, I try to change the voltage from 1.1 (stock) to 1.09 or so and the system immediately freezes! So there is some incompatibility. I've tried different jump sizes, it always immediately freezes when I hit apply and then Hit OK on the warning message.
    I'm running vista 64-bit , Puma, rm-70
     
  13. danwat1234

    danwat1234 Notebook Guru

    Reputations:
    11
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    BUmpity bump
     
  14. gtaplaya22

    gtaplaya22 Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Sorry to bring back an old topic, but the same issue arises with me - changing the values at all causes the system to freeze. I'm running vista x64 and i have an amd x2 ultra turion ZM-82. As far as I've testing, none of the undervolting utilities seem to support it and this program doesn't seem to work too well. Does anyone have any ideas?
     
  15. fullcircle

    fullcircle Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    I have an AthlonX2 QL-62 (2.0GHz).

    Both Overdrive and RMClock do not recognize it... Any other solutions? Got my CPU up to 88C last night and now I'm kinda scared.
     
  16. Kingcodez

    Kingcodez Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    18
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Check:
    http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&sour...xpHZDg&usg=AFQjCNHtgvGr0fAKYXA4F9SL-pNxyFv8zw
    Puma State CTRL is the program, when I ran Vista x64 this worked.. I think..
    I could change Voltages fine with my RM-72, and all the other programs wouldn't work...

    Also
    http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&sour...xpHZDg&usg=AFQjCNH-Cty31ocskn7mqdlePk42zCfrhA
    A thread on undervolting the RM and ZM series..

    When I switched to Win 7, PSC stopped working, so I gave up.

    Thanks to the OP for posting this, I'll give it a try..
     
  17. gtaplaya22

    gtaplaya22 Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Thanks for the info! The Pumastatectrl works great on my ZM-82 with x64 vista. I have had some overheating issues too, and this definitely lowered the temperature.
     
  18. __-_-_-__

    __-_-_-__ God

    Reputations:
    325
    Messages:
    1,797
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    glad to see AMD back in business
     
  19. sweetnsassy

    sweetnsassy Newbie

    Reputations:
    0
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    I've got a hp pavilion dv9730ca that has TL-64 processor, not sure of the chipset though, and would like to give this a try so if anyone can let me know if my system is supported it would be much appreciated :)
     
  20. gekk_gad

    gekk_gad Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    31
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    there is a new version of pumastatectrl which acts as a service so it can run with UAC.

    http://amd.goexchange.de/


    again this will only work with laptops with the puma platform
    processor code name griffin. download cpu-z from cpuid.com in order to determine if this tool is right for you. check the field "code name" to see if it says griffin; if not, please follow the undervolting guide made by flipfire
     
Similar Threads: UnderVolting
Forum Title Date
Hardware Components and Aftermarket Upgrades Undervolting AMD FirePro M4000 Jan 19, 2015
Hardware Components and Aftermarket Upgrades Undervolting an i7-3610qm with XTU Oct 24, 2014
Hardware Components and Aftermarket Upgrades Quadro FX 1600M (8700M GT) undervolting? Oct 19, 2014
Hardware Components and Aftermarket Upgrades Undervolting Intel i7 4700mq Aug 6, 2014
Hardware Components and Aftermarket Upgrades Undervolting an ULV Processor Nov 16, 2013

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page