AMD UnderVolting

Discussion in 'Hardware Components and Aftermarket Upgrades' started by Mantikos, Oct 12, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Mantikos

    Mantikos Notebook Geek

    Reputations:
    7
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    AMD UnderVolting
    1. Please download AMD Fusion
    AMD FUSION
    2. Reboot
    3. Install AMD OverDrive
    AMD OverDrive
    4. Launch AMD OverDrive

    Here are the images...Its pretty straight fwd

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    The white boxes should guide you through the process...


    I am not sure which processors are not supported yet, I do know that it supports all the latest Turions that RMClock doesnt.
     
  2. mr__bean

    mr__bean Notebook Evangelist

    Reputations:
    36
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    What cpus does this work on,

    I have an AMD Turion TL-64, Would it work?

    (ATI RS690 chipset)
     
  3. miner

    miner Notebook Nobel Laureate

    Reputations:
    1,326
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2004
    Messages:
    7,143
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    205
    It only works if you have the 780G chipset.
     
  4. Mantikos

    Mantikos Notebook Geek

    Reputations:
    7
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    You should be able to use RMClock since yours is an older AMD...else give this a shot and let me know
     
  5. Evolution

    Evolution Vox Sola

    Reputations:
    413
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,293
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    55
    Exactly... I tried using overdrive when AMD first released it and when it scanned my notebook it said that the 780G chipset was not detected. Overdrive only works if you have an AMD 700 series chipset (Puma etc).

    Anyway RMclock works for me so no complaints here.
     
  6. Mantikos

    Mantikos Notebook Geek

    Reputations:
    7
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    Yes, this guide is only for people with newer AMD systems not supported by RMClock
     
  7. marcklaser

    marcklaser Notebook Consultant

    Reputations:
    27
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Why do you have to install Fusion for this?
     
  8. rustyslacker

    rustyslacker Notebook Enthusiast

    Reputations:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    This "guide" hasn't helped much. The first time I tried Overdrive, programs would not start correctly on my next boot. I uninstalled it. Tonight when I tried it again, I changed the voltage (kind of; when on High Performance mode, the voltage kept moving back to 0.800, although that's down from what it was). Upon my next boot, I typed my password to log in and my system locked up. I rebooted, and logged in, and started Overdrive. When I went to "load profile" my system completely locked up again.

    So what the ****?
     
  9. miner

    miner Notebook Nobel Laureate

    Reputations:
    1,326
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2004
    Messages:
    7,143
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    205
    Unfortunately, the software doesnt officially support the M780G yet, so there is bound to be some issues when run on such systems.


    P.S - If anyone is unable to boot into Vista at all then just boot into safe mode and disable the AMD overdrive service from starting up automatically. You should be able to find this menu from Start-> in the search box type 'service' and it should be the first Program on the search result. Disable this service and reboot the computer to boot normally.
     
  10. Mantikos

    Mantikos Notebook Geek

    Reputations:
    7
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    Cause in my case, Overdrive didnt recognize the system as an AMD one and moreover fusion allows you to overclock your graphics core speed (I believe some on these forums clocked his HP dv5z HD3450 to 700 instead of 500) and you can create a windows like power profile with fusion to load on every startup
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page